Snow Days

Okay, so it’s been more like Ice Days.  After a winter of NO SNOW, which was unusual, East Tennessee got hit with an ice storm on Monday.  I had taken the week off, since I was off for Presidents’ Day anyway, just to have time to spend with my son and husband.  Mission accomplished!  The week hasn’t quite looked like what I thought it might when I put in for my time.  But it’s been good.  The roads in our neighborhood are well taken care of.  And thankfully we didn’t lose power like many of our East Tennessee neighbors.  (It’s getting down to 3 degrees tonight!)  I’ve been eating like a horse, though – frigid temps plus being cooped up for a couple of days does that to me.

My reading time has consisted of my son’s naps – when he does nap – and maybe a few minutes before bed.  But I’m making progress on Kelly Link’s story collection Get in Trouble.  I’ve not read her before but reviews of this were everywhere, and once again I’m late to an author party.  I’ve read six of the stories and am enjoying them very much.  Is this magical realism?  Is this speculative fiction?  Fantasy?  Sci-Fi?  I think you could say yes to all of these categories.  The stories include fairy tale cabins, phantom lovers, and superheroes, all presented in a matter-of-fact, this-is-how-the-world-is way.  The rest of her books are going on my TBR pronto.

I finished Jess Walter’s Over Tumbled Graves, and Nick Hornby’s Ten Years in the Tub, which took me about two weeks to read.  I love that Hornby’s book has a foreword by Jess Walter, and that in his columns he gushes about Walter’s novels. He’s one of my absolute favorite writers too –  in the top 10.   He can truly write anything, and he has such fondness for his characters, losers they may be – lovable or otherwise.  Over Tumbled Graves was his first novel, a crime-thriller set in Spokane, Washington, which is also where Walter lives.  It was good – a literary thriller with well-developed characters and emotions, as well as an exciting plot.  Reminded me a bit of Michael Connelly’s Harry Bosch series, but just a shade more on the literary side.  It was interesting to see where Walter started and reflect on how different all of this works have been.  I love it when an author won’t let himself be pigeonholed into a certain genre.  I was lucky to hear him read one of his short stories and speak at the UT Library Auditorium a couple of years ago.  He was just as smart, funny, and interesting as the novels and stories he writes.  (I might just have a wee bit of a crush on him as well.  If you didn’t notice.  Ha!)

There’s nothing better than snuggling under the covers with a good book on a cold/icy/snowy day.  I hope, that whatever the weather’s doing in your neck of the woods, you’ve got some good books to keep you company!

4 thoughts on “Snow Days

  1. Ice storms are the worst! You had great timing having taken the week off. I know what you mean about frigid temps and eating like a horse. We had a couple days this last week in Minneapolis when we didn’t even get above zero and it seemed like my stomach became a bottomless pit. I like Hornby’s Believer book columns a lot but have never read is fiction. Is it as delightful and his essays? Isn’t Kelly Link great? I’ve read Magic for Beginners and I’ve seen her give a reading and was really impressed. Her stories defy categorization. I like that. I’m not a huge short story reader but I hope to read Get in Trouble sometime this year. I just have to read Margaret Atwood’s collection from the end of last year first.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Stefanie, I’ve only read High Fidelity by Nick Hornby – and I loved it. Read it twice, as a matter of fact. But then again, I’m also a big music person, so it might resonate with me because of that. I intend to go back and read more of his fiction. The latest Margaret Atwood short story collection is GREAT. She is so dependably good.

      Like

  2. I miss snow days. It hasn’t snowed here since 1989. Jess Walter has been on my radar for awhile. I’ve never read anything by her, but you are now the second blogger I’ve read that has recommended one of her books. Have a great rest of the week and have fun building a snow or ice fort! (Might as well).

    Like

    1. Grad, oh wow, that’s a long time without snow! We are supposed to get some more snow and ice tonight, yuck! Anyway, I highly recommend Jess Walter – and he’s a man, for what it’s worth. 🙂 My favorites of his are Beautiful Ruins and Citizen Vince. And his short story collection is excellent as well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

