Big Reading Life Quarterly Report

It’s almost the end of March (what?!) so I thought I’d take stock of my 2015 reading so far and see how I’m doing on my Reading Goals.  I do love to make a list, after all, so here are the details for the first three months of the year.

Books Read: 19

Fiction: 16

Nonfiction: 3 (2 Memoirs)

Female Authors: 12

Male Authors: 7

Authors of Color: 4

Audiobooks: 1

Books Published This Year: 4

My favorite books of 2015 so far:

  • Dept. of Speculation – Jenny Offill (I will write more about this one shortly.)
  • A Brief History of Seven Killings – Marlon James
  • We Have Always Lived in the Castle – Shirley Jackson

Having read four authors of color (Jesmyn Ward, Sherman Alexie, Marlon James, and Walter Mosley) feels like a good start towards my main reading goal of 2015. Why is reading more diversely important for me?  Book Riot (my very favorite bookish website) has done an amazing five-part question and answer session on diversity in reading, and it really embodies why this issue is something I care about.  You can read about it here, here, here, here, and here.  If you want.  🙂 They answer questions like Why is reading diversely important, anyway? and Isn’t paying attention to the race of an author racist?  Thought-provoking writing here.

Onward!  Read on, good Book People!  Anyone have some favorites so far this year?  I’d love to hear them.

3 thoughts on “Big Reading Life Quarterly Report

  1. Nice job so far this year! My favorite book so far is Meghan Daum’s The Unspeakable. It’s SO GOOD! I also loved Janet Malcolm’s The Journalist and the Murderer and Bich Minh Nguyen’s Pioneer Girl.

    Like

  2. That is a good total. I have always meant to read some more Shirley Jackson other than The Lottery. My favourite books so far this year are probably Michael Faber’s The Book Of Strange New Things and Hilary Mantel’s strange and unsettling Beyond Black.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

