Books Acquired, Time Lacking

IMG_1803

I had a birthday recently, and what did I do with some of my birthday money? Buy books, of course!  I’d been number six on the hold list for Kate Atkinson’s A God in Ruins, but for some reason my library system hasn’t gotten copies in yet.  I couldn’t wait any longer.  (Hardcore Atkinson fan here.)  I’m about 100 pages in and so far it’s brilliant, as her novels are.

Here are other books I’ve recently acquired:

  • The Lottery and Other Stories – Shirley Jackson (Still on my Jackson kick, and I’ve never read any of her other stories besides “The Lottery.”)
  • Cold Comfort Farm – Stella Gibson (I’m in the mood for 20th century British stuff right now.)
  • The Borrower – Rebecca Makkai (used trade paperback) (A book about a librarian – and I really enjoyed her newer novel, The Hundred Year House.)
  • Mislaid – Nell Zink (I won this through a Goodreads First Reads giveaway – looks interesting!)

Now, does anyone know how I can acquire some more time in which to read these and the other delightful, enticing books accumulating on my bookshelves?  I have stopped putting anything else on my library hold list for a while, at least till I make a dent in my pile.  That should help a bit.  So tell me – what books have you recently acquired? Are you finding time to read them?

2 thoughts on “Books Acquired, Time Lacking

    1. Thanks, Stefanie. For years I didn’t buy books. Not really. i thought that because I work at the library and had such easy access to free books, that it wasn’t necessary. But ever since my son was born, almost four years ago, I view buying books as a way to treat myself. And what better time to treat yourself than your birthday? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

