The Kind Worth Killing, and Looking Ahead

So.

It’s been a while.  I’ve been reading, but I’ve also been parenting, wife-ing, being a friend, trying to work out, trying to clean – you know, LIFE.  But I’m here now, and I’m excited to tell you about a book!

IMG_1835

Do not pass Go, do not collect $200.  Just go get your hands on a copy of this book.  The Kind Worth Killing by Peter Swanson is packed with twists that this reader did NOT see coming.  It’s smart, well-written, entertaining as hell.  It starts out just the teensiest bit slow, but by halfway through, you’re hanging on for dear life and don’t want to put it down.

THIS is the thriller that should be on the best-seller list (not that book about the train, you know the one. It was… okay.  Not great.)   Can we make this book happen, please?  I’m going to do my best to put this in the hands of my patrons at the library.

What’s it about?  I don’t want to spoil anything so I’ll give you the basic premise: Ted Severson has discovered that his wife, Miranda, is cheating on him with the contractor for the house they’re building.  On his way back from England on a business trip, he meets Lily Kintner, a waifish, attractive red-head who engages him in  conversation.  When Ted half-jokingly tells Lily that he’d like to kill his wife, Lily basically says, “Why not?”

It’s supposed to be sort of an updated version of Patricia Highsmith’s Strangers on a Train.  I’ve not read that, nor have I seen the film that was based on the novel.  I put the Highsmith on my good old trusty Goodreads TBR.

Peter Swanson has written another book, called The Girl With a Clock For a Heart.  I put that one on the TBR too.

So what’s up next?  Well, I’ve gotten some good stuff lately.  I’ve got an Inspector Wexford (Ruth Rendell) mystery waiting for me at the library.  I also am in the  middle of a travel-memoir called The Sweet Life in Paris: Delicious Adventures in the World’s most Glorious – and Perplexing – City by David Lebovitz.  I have a real soft spot for travel memoirs, especially about people moving to France.  This one would be perfect for a real foodie, which I’m not.  So I sort of skim the recipes at the end of each chapter.

IMG_1836

I ordered Citizen: An American Lyric by Claudia Rankin from another branch, and I’m psyched to start that.  I’ve heard nothing but good things about it.  I’ve heard it’s powerful and tough to read.  I’ll let you know how it hits me.

And then two fun books from the used book store: Four Nights With the Duke by Eloisa James and The Shining Girls by Lauren Beukes.  I’m trying to branch out with romance, and I’ve heard that Ms. James is among the best.  And The Shining Girls sounds intriguing but pretty terrifying, so we’ll see if I can handle it.  Maybe not!

What have you guys got lined up?  Got any good thriller/suspense recommendations for me?

6 thoughts on “The Kind Worth Killing, and Looking Ahead

    1. Funny you should say that, Stefanie – last night I started it and blazed through almost half. Then I thought, hey, maybe I need to take my time with this one. Thanks for the tip!

      Like

  1. The Swanson book looks like fun, I’m in the mood for a good mystery right now. I’ve just finished Broadchurch on DVDs and I’m still looking for something half as well-plotted. And Strangers in the train was a good classic movie too, you should try it.
    Also, the Lebovitz, yumm… tell me if something particular strikes you, I might go and send you a virtual postcard ;), so that we can compare the literary and the real experience!

    Like

    1. I definitely need to try the Hitchcock for sure! The Lebovitz book, unfortunately, didn’t live up to my expectations. I found the essays had a snarky tone that made me want to not even visit Paris, let alone live there. And I’m someone who’s been sort of obsessed with Paris and France for years! (Arm-chair traveler so far.)

      Like

Leave a Reply

