July Reading Plans

IMG_1935

A couple of nights ago I finished Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl.  I’m in the 1% of people who didn’t fully love her Eleanor and Park (too much teen angst and lovey-dovey stuff for me.  Maybe it was a mood, who knows?)  But I really enjoyed her latest, Landline, and Fangirl was also great fun.  Ms. Rowell has a great flair for dialogue that sounds realistic, and as this one was set in college rather than high school, I could relate to it a bit more.  Our heroine, Cath, is a college freshman with anxiety and abandonment issues.  Her mom left her and her twin sister, Wren, when they were in elementary school.  They go to the University of Nebraska together, and Wren is trying to distance herself a bit from Cath and gain some independence.  Cath is also a talented writer of fan fiction about a Harry Potter-like character named Simon Snow.  In fact, she may be the leading writer of Snow fan fic, with tens of thousands of hits on her chapters every day.  This is the story of Cath learning to trust people again, growing into her own independence, and also letting herself maybe fall in love with a sweet older student named Levi.  It’s a fun, super-fast read, and if you like YA novels, you definitely need to check this one out.

So what’s coming up next for me?  My book group is reading Neil Gaiman’s American Gods this month.  I’ve only read The Ocean at the End of the Lane (which I loved,) so I’m eager to try this one.  I’ve heard nothing but good things from people I know and trust!  After that, I’m not sure I’ve got a stack of books I’ve purchased but not read.  And I checked out Meghan Daum’s book of essays from last year, The Unspeakable. I heard about this one on Book Riot and other blogs and it looks intriguing.

I’m also slowly (slooooooooowly) making my way through Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez.  I’m about a third of the way through it, but for some reason it feels like a slog.  I haven’t picked it up in about two weeks.  I don’t want to abandon it entirely yet, though.  Reading it was one of my main reading goals this year.  And I LOVED One Hundred Years of Solitude.  Maybe I’ll see if I can check out an audio book version from the library. That might help speed things along.

Tell me what you’re reading right now, or what’s up next for you.  And if you’ve read either of the Garcia Marquez classics, tell me what you think!

4 thoughts on “July Reading Plans

  1. I gave up on Eleanor and Park, but it was an audio book and I never like them as much as a book-book. I just finished Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell and LOVED it. Was sad when it ended. So I went to the bookstore and bought The Name Of The Rose by Umberto Eco because every blog writer that I read loved it. The bookstore lady said she loved it. It’s on just about every list of great books. But I’m on page 70 and am finding it kind of a slog. I’m hoping it picks up its pace. Have you read it yet?

    Like

    1. The size of Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell intimidates me, but I’ve heard good things about it. I have not read The Name of the Rose either. Let me know how you get along with it.

      Like

  2. I read American Gods quite a long time ago now, it was my first Neil Gaiman book, it’s very good with lots of mythological elements in it. I have also read Love in the Time of Cholera a very long time ago for a book group. I liked that one too but as I recall, there were parts of it where my eyes did nothing but drift over the words, so don’t feel bad if it’s kind of a slog. Keep going, it just might improve!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

