Big Reading Life Quarterly Report #2

IMG_1979
My dad’s big on Rumi.

Time to take stock of my second quarter reading this year!  I switched into a new book journal in April (I wrote about my first book journal here.)  It’s a journal with Rumi’s quotations that my father had given me some time ago.  What better way to put it to use than to document my reading life – the good old-fashioned way.  I’m a pen and paper woman at heart.

So here are my stats for April-June:

  • Books read: 17
  • Fiction: 12
  • Non-fiction: 5
  • Female Authors: 13
  • Male: 4
  • Authors of Color: 2
  • Audio books: 1
  • Published in 2015: 7
  • Favorite books this quarter: A God in Ruins by Kate Atkinson, The Kind Worth Killing by Peter Swanson, and The Shelf by Phyllis Rose.  Honorable mention goes to My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante.

Thoughts: Kinda dropped the ball on the authors of color.  It’s really apparent to me now the huge disparity between white authors and authors of color, in what gets published, publicized, and reviewed.  Still, I’m the one choosing books.  I’ve also not listened to many audio books this year – I think I’m in a music phase right now (I love you, Sirius XM radio!)  I’d like to read more nonfiction that’s not memoir – some history, biography, and microhistory.  That’s a goal for the next three months.

This has been a really good quarter overall – lots of quality reads.  Here’s hoping the second half of the year is satisfying and fun!  Has your reading year turned out as you’d hoped so far?

2 thoughts on “Big Reading Life Quarterly Report #2

Leave a Reply

