Tackling the TBR in 2016

So I’ve signed up for a reading dare (not a “challenge”) for the new year.  I discovered it through Teresa’s post at Shelf Love about managing her TBR pile.  It’s the Triple Dog Dare hosted by James Reads Books.  It’s been going on for a while but obviously since I’m a new-ish blogger I haven’t participated before.  This is the last one, so why the heck not join?

The rules are this:  from January 1 to April 1, only read books from your TBR pile.  Books that are in your “stack” as of December 31, 2015.  He says you can make many exceptions:  books for your book group, library books you’ve already placed on hold and are waiting for, ARCs for review, etc.  The goal is just to clear out as much of your TBR pile as you can.

I love this idea.  I’ve got books on my book shelf that have been sitting there for YEARS.  And yes, many of those have already gone to the thrift store or the used book store in various purges, but many have remained.  So 2016 is the year that I’m going to read them!  Or as many of them as I can in three months.  Bruce Springsteen biography, (Glory Days: Bruce Springsteen in the 1980s) I’m looking at you.

I will make an exception for my book group picks.  And possibly for things I have on hold before December 31.  But I’m really going to strive to read as much from my physical bookshelves as I can.  This really is a great solution to my TBR problem.  I had been contemplating using a book jar, but this serves the same purpose and involves MUCH less paperwork!  (All those strips of paper!  Saving trees!)  So if you want some motivation to work through your TBR pile, head over to James Reads Books and sign up.

3 thoughts on “Tackling the TBR in 2016

Leave a Reply

