Big Reading Life Best of 2015

It’s time for another Best Of list!  Do you ever get tired of reading those?  I don’t, actually.  It’s fun to see what really got people excited in 2015.  Last year, when I began Big Reading Life, I only included books that were published in 2014.  This year, I decided to go with my ten favorite reading experiences of the year, no matter when the book was published.

Here we go!  (In no particular order, and with a one word review:)

A Brief History of Seven Killings – Marlon James.  Masterful.

We Have Always Lived in the Castle – Shirley Jackson.  Classic.

My Salinger Year – Joanna Rakoff.  Nostalgic.

Fates and Furies – Lauren Groff.  Fierce.IMG_2076

Dietland – Sarai Walker.  Subversive.

Between the World and Me – Ta-Nehisi Coates.  Powerful.

The Shelf: From LEQ to LES: Adventures in Extreme Reading -Phyllis Rose.  Fun.

A God in Ruins – Kate Atkinson.  Heartbreaking.

Dept. of Speculation – Jenny Offill.  Raw.

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian – Sherman Alexie.  Just read it.  (Okay, that’s more than one word, but this YA novel is everything – hopeful, hilarious, heartbreakingly sad – it’s got it all and you just have to read it.)

Goodreads tells me I read 77 books this year.  Of those, 17 were written by authors of color.  My main reading goal this year was to increase my numbers from a paltry 7 titles last year.  So 17 is better than 7, but it’s still only 22% of the total.  Room for improvement.

I didn’t re-read Middlemarch, nor did I complete Love in the Time of Cholera, which were my other stated reading goals.  I tried with the Garcia Marquez, but it just didn’t hold my attention.  It happens!

As you look back on your own reading year, I hope you accomplished some of your reading goals, and if you didn’t… well, I hope you enjoyed the journey anyway!  I certainly did!

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Big Reading Life Best of 2015

  1. What great books! I need to get started on mine. Not sure if I will finish one more before I start on my favorites. I was hoping to finish Middlemarch by the end of the year but wasn’t able to. Enjoying it immensely though!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

