Where Did The Week Go?

I don’t quite know where the last week has gone!  I posted my last review, finished Alice Munro’s The Progress of Love, began Robert Galbraith’s Career of Evil, and finished my audio book (The Opposite of Spoiled by Ron Lieber) and POOF, suddenly it was another Sunday!  This has been a hectic week, what with work and doctor’s appointments for everyone in the family.  I’ve also joined a new gym (huzzah!) and have been working out more there and at home.  And Downton Abbey has started again (yay!)  So my focus for blogging has been divided lately.

But of course, I’m still reading!  This particular novel is not fulfilling the requirements of the Triple Dog Dare TBR Challenge, but it’s one of the exceptions I made at the outset.  I’ve been on hold for this one for a while at the library and it came in last week.  I’m glad to say that the third installment of Galbraith’s (J.K. Rowling’s) Cormoran Strike mystery series is the best one yet.  Career_of_Evil_Oct_2015If you’ve not read them, you probably should begin with the first.  Strike is a very appealing character, a P.I., ex-British military, gruff and imposing physically, but with a good heart.  He and his secretary/partner (her role in the agency is sort of undefined,) the younger, beautiful Robin Ellacott, have a sweet, complicated “will-they-or-won’t-they” relationship that I am rooting for.  The mystery in this outing is excellent, and totally grabbed me from the start.  Some sicko killer has sent Robin a HUMAN LEG, and is targeting Robin to get to Strike, not to mention ruin their business in the process.  Strike immediately thinks of four men who could be out to get him, all of them very unsavory characters.  Robin’s also about to get married and tensions between her and her fiance are high, so she’s dealing with that along with the stress of being in the sights of a psychopath.  I’m about 100 pages from the end and there’s SO MUCH yet to be resolved, so I’m sort of breathlessly turning the pages at this point.

My books for my book group count as another exception to the TBR challenge, and February’s book (discarded library copy) arrived in the mail this week   I belong to an awesome book group – smart, funny ladies who have a diverse range of interests.  Our pick for next month is Corey Feldman’s Coreyography!  IMG_2973I have a weakness for dishy celeb autobiographies, but this one was heavily lobbied for by another book group member.  I remember loving the movies that Corey Feldman and Corey Haim made in the last ’80s and early ’90s, Licence to Drive and Dream a Little Dream.  I didn’t harbor a crush for either guy, as many of my generation did, but I appreciated their work!  (Feldman was also in another campy favorite of mine, the underrated Tom Hanks movie The Burbs.)  Anyway, I think this memoir is going to be pretty heavy, with drugs, physical and sexual abuse, and family dysfunction in Feldman’s past.  It’s not our usual kind of book group choice, but I’ll let you know how it goes!  Anyone else have a weakness for celebrity memoirs?  I’d love to hear your picks.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Where Did The Week Go?

  1. I just read The Cuckoo’s Calling in December, and I can’t wait to read the next two. I’m informally following the TBR Double Dog Dare rules, though, so I won’t get to them until April or May. So glad to hear Career of Evil is good!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been meaning to start Cormoran Strike series, and I own the first two books.
    Coreyography was sent to me for review by the publisher a couple of years ago, and I jumped into it right away. I was very heavy though. I was so saddened that I left the last few chapters unread. I’ll probably need to revisit it and write a review for the kind publishers. Good book club choice though. You’ll definitely have to talk about it with someone. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The week is zooming by isn’t it? I am not a fan of celebrity memoirs as the few I have ventured to read were generally poorly written and sadly dull. I hope you find the Feldman book good. It does have a great title!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

