Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books Recently Added to My TBR

I’ve decided to join the fun of Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  toptentuesdayToday’s list is the top ten books most recently added to your TBR.  I personally consider my physical TBR different from my Goodreads TBR.  As I’ve mentioned, I don’t buy a ton of books.  But I DO maintain a monstrous Goodreads To-Read list!  Currently it stands as 536 titles.  I used to fret if it got over 200, but in the last year or so I’ve totally left caution to the wind.  Just because it goes on the To-Read list doesn’t mean I have to read it.  I use it basically as a reminder for myself of all the awesome books I read about and don’t want to forget.

So here are the latest things added to my Goodreads To-Read list:

  1. A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara.  I’ve waited until now to put this on the TBR because I wasn’t sure I could take it, the sadness and the heaviness.  I’m still not sure I can.  But I decided to give it a shot because it’s been (almost) universally well-reviewed.
  2. Food52 Genius Recipes: 100 Recipes That Will Change the Way You Cook.  51flSLtcG7L._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_I’m more of a baker than a cook.  Mercifully, my husband is fearless and inventive in the kitchen.  So I sometimes bring home cookbooks from the library just to look at and let him peruse for inspiration.  This one looks lovely.
  3. The 5-6-7-8 Diet by Kym Johnson.  I’m a crazy super-fan of the show Dancing With the Stars.  I will read any book that any of the show’s professional dancers write.  I saw this one was coming out while I was perusing Goodreads giveaways.  I may skim it more than actually read it, but I like her and hopefully it will have some helpful tips!
  4.  Hunger: A Memoir of (My) Body by Roxane Gay.  Coming out later this year.  I loved Gay’s Bad Feminist, and any memoir exploring body image/weight issues appeals to me.
  5. The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead.  Another 2016 book.  Colson Whitehead is awesome.  ‘Nuff said.
  6. Girl Waits With Gun by Amy Stewart.   Elizabeth Gilbert gave it a great blurb, and lots of my fellow readers have marked it “to-read” or have enjoyed it.  I enjoy both historical fiction and mystery, so this one should be good.
  7.  Passenger by Alexandra Bracken.  20983362I always try to read some YA to be able to make smart recommendations to my library patrons.  I don’t always succeed.  This one looked intriguing.
  8. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern.  I’m the last person on Earth who hasn’t read this, I think.
  9. My Life On the Road by Gloria Steinem.  I read a glowing review of this from Ann Patchett’s blog on the Parnassus Books website.  Good enough for me.
  10. This Too Shall Pass by Milena Busquets.  A Goodreads friend of mine said, “Holy sh*t.  Read this one ASAP.”  The description says, “A fresh, honest, and ruefully funny story about love, sex, marriage, grief, friendship and parenthood, THIS TOO SHALL PASS is an irresistible novel that is fast becoming an international phenomenon.” Sounded promising.

 

Of course, I won’t be getting to any of these titles in the next three months, not until the conclusion of the TBR Triple Dog Dare Challenge.  But they’ll be waiting for me in April (or May, or next year…)  Or maybe I’ll decide that I don’t actually want to read them after all. That’s the beauty of the virtual TBR! So what have you added or acquired recently?  Have you read any of the books on my list?

 

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books Recently Added to My TBR

  1. I think I am going to have to break my TBR rule and put Girl Waits with Gun on hold at the library…I keep wanting to read it NOW. Maybe the queue will be long (but not as long as for A Little Life. I’m 48th in line right now!

    Like

Leave a Reply

