Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Historical Settings in Books

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, was either about the past or the future – historical settings you enjoy or futuristic settings you’d like to visit.  As future settings tend to be bleak and depressing, I’ll go back in time… when things were still rather bleak and depressing!  Ha ha!  I guess human nature is such that there will always be problems, no matter what era you’re living in.  I don’t seek out historical fiction as a genre, like I do mysteries, but I enjoy it when the time period is in service to a compelling and well-written story.

  1. Great Depression.  There is some awesome juvenile fiction set in the Depression era, like Christopher Paul Curtis’s Bud, Not Buddy and Richard Peck’s A Long Way From Chicago.  Both of these are really funny books, in spite of the hard times of the setting.  Another novel I adored that’s set in this time period is Rules of Civility by Amor Towles.  Beautiful writing.
    rules
  2. Post American Civil War/Westward Expansion.  Again, I’m basing this on two of my favorite juvenile fiction novels: Caddie Woodlawn by Carol Ryrie Brink and the Little House Series by Laura Ingalls Wilder.  I’m fascinated by the pioneer time period.  It was a very physically demanding time in which to live, but it also offered a great deal of connection to the natural world that we have lost.  Also, all that solitude, all those wide open spaces – so different from anything I’ve ever known!
  3. Post WWII England.  BARBARA PYM.  Need I say more?
  4. 18th century England  Jane Austen.  An Appetite For Violets by Martine Bailey.  Burning Bright by Tracy Chevalier.
  5. England Between The Wars (a.k.a. the Downton Abbey period.)  Okay, so it’s obvious that I’m an Anglophile!  I haven’t read much set in this time period – yet – besides Ishiguro’s Remains of the Day.  But there are many on my Goodreads TBR, and I’m a HUGE fan of the show.  I’m very attracted to that time and place.

That’s all I could come up with.  This was a Top Ten that was challenging for me.  I feel like I’ve just begun exploring historical fiction as a genre.  It’s rather exciting to know that there are so many good books out there waiting for me to discover them.  Have you got any particular time periods you love to immerse yourself in?  Any titles I need to check out in the time periods I’ve selected?  I’d love to hear your thoughts.

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Historical Settings in Books

  1. You are probably the only blogger I have ever seen mention Caddie Woodlawn, which was my very favorite book as a child (and, like you, I also loved the Little House books). Great minds! I tried to do this top ten but I had a hard time…but I also had the American West and England between the World Wars. Ha! My only other was American campuses (prep school or college) in the late 1950s/early 1960s. I can’t resist those.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Priscilla, I have a confession: I first read Caddie Woodlawn as an adult, only a few years ago! But I loved it wholeheartedly! Good idea about the late 50’s/ early 60s campuses – an interesting time for sure.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

