Bookish Podcast Alert: What Should I Read Next?

I say that I don’t have much time to listen to podcasts, but I’ve managed to find a new one that I like.  I listen to podcasts on the twice monthly Saturdays that I work, where I’m by myself for the first hour.  And the other night I listened to one while I was putting away laundry and my young son was watching a cartoon.  It’s called What Should I Read Next? and it’s hosted by Anne Bogel, the writer of the Modern Mrs. Darcy blog.  I’ve listened to two episodes so far.  It just launched this year, so there are only five episodes to date.  One thing I like about the podcast is that it’s not terribly long – around 30 to 40 minutes.  I also really like Anne’s voice – it’s smooth and soothing.  She’s a voracious reader, and she used to have a literary matchmaking series on her blog, out of which this podcast grew.next

The format of the podcast is the same: Anne hosts a guest – an author, podcast host, and/or blogger – and this person shares some information about her reading tastes. Anne asks them to tell her the following:  three books that they love, one book that they hate, and what they are reading right now.  (In one of the podcasts Anne also asked the guest if there was something they’d like to be different in their reading life right now.)  The guest tells us why he/she chose their particular titles, and we all get a sense of what kinds of things the guest likes and dislikes.  (Interesting tidbit:  in both of the podcasts I’ve heard, the Hated Book was Go Set A Watchman by Harper Lee!)

Anne is really good at summarizing what the guest values in his/her reading life.  One of her guests referred to her as a “book whisperer” and I think this term is right on.  She’ll then offer three books that she thinks the guest would enjoy and why she chose them.

I’ve read a lot of the books that have been discussed so far, or they’re on my Goodreads TBR, so this podcast seems to be a good fit for me!  I just really enjoy the conversational tone of the episodes, and the way that Anne genuinely listens to her guests.  If you have some free time to explore podcasts, and aren’t overwhelmed with podcasts already, I highly recommend this one.

8 thoughts on “Bookish Podcast Alert: What Should I Read Next?

  1. This sounds lovely. I have never tried podcasts. From your blog, I understand they are useful. I am now curious to figure out too. Thank you for this post. 🙂 Also, could you please mention a couple of titles that Anne recommended?

    Like

    1. Podcasts are great when you’re doing housework! There are quite a few bookish podcasts out there. As far as titles she recommended, I remember in the first episode she recommended Bel Canto by Ann Patchett, A Man Called Ove by Fredrick Backman, and The Man in the High Castle by Philip K. Dick. The recommendations are tailored to her guest that week, but they’re all books she enjoyed.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Interesting! I have read ‘A Man Called Ove’, and loved it. Does it work only on iPhones? Sorry, I am a bit of a luddite. 🙂

        Like

      2. I am kind of a luddite too. If I can figure it out, I think anyone can! I have an iPhone but I’m sure you can listen to podcasts on Android as well. I looked and you can subscribe to her blog either through iTunes or Stitcher. Check out podcasts apps on your device.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I love all things podcast! The only problem is I try to follow too many of them. But there’s always room for one more if it comes recommended! I’ll definitely try it for my next lunch break/commute/errands/park with the kids session…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

