Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books About Music on my TBR

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is a music-themed freebie.  This one was an easy list for me to compile, as I’m a huge music fan, and enjoy biographies and non-fiction.  There are many artists I’d like to read about, so here are my musical picks on my Goodreads TBR list.

  1. Dream Boogie: The Triumph of Sam Cooke by Peter Guralnick.  Sam Cooke has one of my top ten male voices, and I really don’t know much about his life, but I’d like to. Guralnick is a respected music writer.99414
  2. Songbook by Nick Hornby.  High Fidelity is a favorite, and I adored Hornby’s essays on books and reading collected in Ten Years in the Tub.  I’m eager to take another essay trip with him.
  3. Bruce by Peter James Carlin.  After trying and not finishing another Springsteen biography recently, I’m desperate to read a good one.  This one has good ratings on Goodreads.
  4. 18 And Life on Skid Row by Sebastian Bach.  Ahem.  Yes.  I am a big fan of late 80’s/early 90s glam metal.  (Guilty pleasure?  Maybe.)  Skid Row was one of my favorite bands from that era.  This one is slated for April publication.
  5. Hunger Makes Me a Modern Girl by Carrie Brownstein.  Sleater-Kinney rocks.  And how cool to get a female perspective in rock and roll.
  6. Just Kids by Patti Smith.  I should have read this already.  It was a book club pick and I skipped that month.  (I blame it on my kid, ha ha.)25065629
  7. Last Train to Memphis by Peter Guralnick. AND…
  8. Careless Love by Peter Guralnick.  These are supposed to be the definitive Elvis Presley biographies.
  9. Driving the King by Ravi Howard.  This is a novel but it sounds amazing.  Nat King Cole is back in Montgomery, Alabama for a peformance, and his childhood friend, Nat Weary, is in the audience.  When a white supremacist tries to attack Cole, Weary defends his friend and lands in jail.  After he gets out, Cole hires him as his driver in L.A.  I love Nat King Cole, and the plot of this one sounds so interesting.
  10. Born to Run by Bruce Springsteen.  I FREAKED OUT when I found out last week that The Boss is writing his own memoir, coming out in September.  I will be buying this one in hardcover.

So have you read any of the titles on my list?  Have you got any favorite books about music you think I should check out?

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books About Music on my TBR

Leave a Reply

