Snapshot of a Book Group: 2/21/16

I love my book group.  We’ve been together for almost 10 years, and we’ve had members come and go with moves, babies, etc., but our core has remained mostly the same.  We’re friends and friends-of-friends, some who have worked or still work in the county library system.  Our hosting and book choosing process is pretty easy-going and democratic, which is why I think we’ve been a successful group for so long.  Sometimes people don’t read the book, but they can still participate in the discussion, knowing that those who have finished can talk about all the spoilers they want to.  We have a WIDE range of interests – some are married, some have kids, some have the cutest cats ever.  We are teachers, librarians, artists, social media mavens. We love books.  We have fun. And I guess after so long we’re kind of like family.  (Two new members joined us last month – yay! – so they’re still settling in and getting used to our quirks.)

Setting:  11:00 am, Member X’s house

Members present: 8 out of 10

Brunch/Snack foods provided:  Parmesan artichoke dip, pretzel thins, Nutella Greek yogurt dip, apple slices, assorted ginormous pastries from a local bakery, spinach pepper potato frittata thing what was delicious,  probably some other stuff I can’t remember.  Oh, and mimosas for those who wanted them.  (Somebody almost always brings champagne!)

IMG_2973Book Discussed: Corey Feldman’s Coreyography: A Memoir.  (Ironic side note:  the member who had been pushing this book forever as a choice DID NOT READ IT.  Which I half-jokingly called her out on.  But seriously.)

Topics discussed:  Whether or not Feldman was a narcissist/could avoid being a narcissist with his very messed-up celebrity upbringing; who is the person who sexually abused Corey Haim during the filming of Lucas; did Feldman come across as sincere and/or truthful; the shock of learning that Feldman was married to General Hospital alum/goddess Vanessa Marcil for FOUR YEARS; what exactly are “Corey’s Angels” (his recent business endeavor involving scantily clad young women who can show up at your next house party – for a fee;) the genuinely charming account in the book of Feldman’s hero worship of Michael Jackson when he was a kid and how cool it was that he got to become friends with his idol; also, did we believe Feldman’s assertion that Jackson was not a pedophile; the genuine brotherly love Feldman had for the late Corey Haim.

Other topics discussed:  Beyonce’s Formation video, and how it makes one book group member want to “slay” at meetings; the fact that Jump Little Children had a reunion concert tour in December and two members had no idea, despite being huge fans of JLC (Yes, I was utterly dismayed to hear that I’d missed it!;) my trip to see Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band with my mom in Atlanta on February 18 (IT WAS THE BEST); The Dark Tower series by Stephen King – who’d read it, should I read it (I’m interested in it now because Matthew McConaughey and Idris Elba might star in the adaptation;) pop star Kesha’s current legal situation; whether or not author Lily King was Stephen King’s daughter (she isn’t;) two members’ recent trip to see Bernie Sanders speak at Moorehouse College in Atlanta; do Knoxville drivers drive like grandmas or are Atlanta drivers simply insane (yes and yes.)

Books Choices Presented by Host for Next Month:  Euphoria by Lily King; Super Sad True Love Story by Gary Shteyngart; and A Lesson Before Dying by Ernest Gaines.

Book Chosen by Group:  Super Sad True Love Story (5 members voted for it.)

The meeting’s at my house next month, or if I choose we’ll have it as a local restaurant. So I’ll be responsible for presenting book choices upon which everyone will vote.  I’ll write more soon about what I think I’ll present (so many possibilities!)   Are you or have you ever been part of a book group?  Have you read the Dark Tower series?  Is it worth checking out?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

17 thoughts on “Snapshot of a Book Group: 2/21/16

    1. Cathy, we always have yummy food – and when we meet at a restaurant, we still have the yummy food! I did not know that about the Shteyngart book. Thanks for that info. I’ll definitely post about the novel after I read it. I read his memoir Little Failure and I really liked it.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Awwww. This sounds like an amazing book group. I had a work book club at my old job in New York, and I miss them so much! We weren’t as close as your group sounds, but I loved getting together with them and sharing some wine and talking about books with them.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jenny, it’s so fun to get together regularly and talk about books in person with people, isn’t it? Although some meetings we talk about other stuff way more than we talk about the book!

      Like

  2. I SO much miss my club where I used to live. Still trying to figure out the new group. I still feel like the newbie and it is uncomfortable. I don’t think they have the same book-love I have, but just do it for a night out but I have nothing in common to share in their non-book conversations.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It looks awesome! I never heard about all these books but it looks like you are very lucky with your group and have a fantastic time. Keep it going! I’ve been part to a writing group, but never to a book group. I know the library organizes one, but with the kids it’s still unpractical.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Smithereens. We do have a really good time together. We’re kind of like family now, and families squabble sometime, but all in all we’re a well-functioning machine!

      Like

  4. Our book club is only a year old, and we’re still working out some kinks, but I’m loving it. I was wondering if you have any favourite book club picks you’d like to recommend?
    Happy to have found your blog!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Naomi, thank you, and likewise! (I’ll be checking out your blog some more soon!) As for recommendations, we had very good discussions with The Dinner by Hermann Koch, How to be Black by Baratunde Thurston, The Secret History by Donna Tartt, and Tenth of December by George Saunders, among others. I hope you continue to enjoy your book group!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

