Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books to Read When You Want to Feel Good

Today’s topic for Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and Bookish, is all about mood reading.  I’ve recently discovered that I’m very much a mood reader.  It’s something that I long suspected but never really articulated. Participating in the TBR Triple Dog Dare has made me realize that I make reading choices not by any sort of logical reading method, but purely by what I’m in the mood for.  If I last read a fun, “light” read, I’ll often go with a darker book.  If I read a heavier literary fiction title, then I crave a good crime thriller next. I can’t take too much of the same type of book in a row, it seems.  Having to pick within my own physical TBR shelves at home has been a real challenge to my usual way of choosing books.  But I’m glad I am participating, if only to learn more about what drives me as a reader.

I decided to write about books that made me feel good.  Not all of these are necessarily what I call a light read, but they all leave me feeling good about the world.  And don’t we need more of that these days?

  1. 1096390The Uncommon Reader by Alan Bennett.  The Queen stumbles upon a mobile library on the palace grounds, takes up reading, and hijinks ensue. A real delight for book lovers.
  2. Excellent Women by Barbara Pym.  I could have listed any number of Pym’s books here, but I chose what is probably her most read work.  Mildred Lathbury is not married, or romantically involved in any way, yet she creates meaning for her life in 1950s England – being useful to her neighbors and her church, as so many other “excellent women” of the time do.  A quietly funny and wise novel.
  3. The “44 Scotland Street Series” by Alexander McCall Smith.  One Goodreads review called it “Seinfeld in Scotland,” by which he means not much happens.  But unlike “Seinfeld,” it’s such a warm-hearted, charming series, full of the kinds of conversations about love, meaning, art, friendship, parenting, and all the things that make life good.  I always enjoy an installment of this series.
  4. 61ygHG+UiZL._SX334_BO1,204,203,200_Lost Lake by Sarah Addison Allen.  I like all of Allen’s books, but this one is my favorite.  If you like a Southern setting and a bit of magical realism with your romantic storylines, Allen’s your woman.
  5. Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson.  A lovely novel of manners set in a small English town.  Love blossoms between a widowed English military man and a widowed Pakistani shop keeper, much to the chagrin of small-minded people in both families.
  6. The Story of Ferdinand by Munro Leaf.  I couldn’t let this list go without including one of my favorite picture books.  Ferdinand the bull wants to just sit quietly and smell the flowers, which is pretty much my life’s ambition too!  Only his mother and the other bulls and the bullfighters all seem to want him to be a fighter, just because he’s big.  I’m glad to say that my son enjoys this quiet, sweet tale too.
  7. It’s Easier Than You Think: The Buddhist Way to Happiness by Sylvia Boorstein. “Becoming aware of fragility, of temporality, of the fact that we will surely all be lost to one another, sooner or later, mandates a clear imperative to be totally kind and loving to each other always.”  I am not a Buddhist, but I think anyone of any faith tradition can benefit from Boorstein’s warm, loving wisdom.  This is a book to keep and read over and over again, when the world (or your own mind) is becoming too much to handle.
  8. Beautiful Ruins by Jess Walter.  One of my favorite novels ever.  It’s messy, and moving, and funny, with multiple storylines converging beautifully to convey the beauty and sadness of love and life.  Walter obviously loves his characters.  I’m stupid for this book.
  9.  The Geography of Bliss: One Grump’s Search for the Happiest Places in the World by Eric Weiner.  I read this quite a few years ago but I remember loving it.  It’s a funny and really interesting exploration of just what makes a person happy – how much of it has to do with democracy, or money, or climate, etc?  I’m a sucker for a well-written travel memoir anyway.
  10. 515MBTEMKYL Bunnicula: A Rabbit-Tale of Mystery by Deborah and James Howe.  A childhood favorite that holds up really well reading it as an adult.  So funny!  The scene with Chester the cat and the steak is priceless.  The actor Victor Garber does a great audio book version, by the way.

So those are ten of my good-mood-inducing picks.  Have you read any of these?  Do you have any particularly happy/comforting/life-affirming titles of your own you’d like to share?

 

24 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books to Read When You Want to Feel Good

  1. Bunnicula! I loved that book when I was a kid. Common Reader and Excellent Women are also delightful books. Have you read Elizabeth von Arnim’s Enchanted April? That is one of my favorite feel good books. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I love love ‘The Uncommon Reader’. Such a gem. I have already fallen in love with Bunnicula. I want to keep saying that title. It makes me laugh so hard. 😀

    I always turn to PG Wodehouse for some fun, light reads. And, from your blog I realised that I am a ‘mood-reader’ too. That’s one of the reasons why I am a poor performer in any reading event. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I am excited for you. I keep visiting his books, only because I feel assured that nothing will go wrong in his world. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I can’t read too many of the same type of book in a row either and, like you, sometimes I just crave something cheerful. (My list was actually on a similar topic.) I just added “The Uncommon Reader” to my to-read list. I love books about books! Have you read “The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry”? If not, you might enjoy it. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. My thoughts on your list? Yaaass! So many of the ones you’ve listed are on my TBR, but I think Major Pettigrew is at the top. Pym also makes me happy, and wanting a good cup of tea…and cake. Have you tried the Lucia novels by E. F. Benson? He and Pym are neck in neck on my list of mood inducing reads.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I need to read Simonsson’s new book. And I just remembered that I read about 50% of Walters’s The Financial Lives of Poets before other shiny things caught my eyes. I remember it as being hilarious. . hmm, maybe I need to check him out again?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Financial Lives of Poets is good, but Beautiful Ruins is the much superior novel, in my mind! He also has a wonderful and slightly weird collection of short stories called We Live in Water. I just love him.

      Like

  6. P.S. I’ve been reading Angela Thirkell recently and she too evokes a mood that is slower, more peaceful, and just generally good-feels inducing! Oh, and also regency romances by some tried and tested authors. . . my favorite comfort reading for when I’m down in the dumps or have a case of food poisoning! (sorry, the latter’s very fresh in my mind having just got out of a bout!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

