Blogger Recognition Award: Thanks, Ioana!

bloggers-recognition

Ioana from Books Reenchanted nominated me for The Blogger’s Recognition Award, and I couldn’t be more thrilled.  Check out her fantastic blog if you haven’t already done so.  She is a passionate reader whose reviews are always insightful and diverse.  I can’t believe that her blog has only been around since March – it seems like she’s been a part of the book community a lot longer than that!  I always feel like I come away from her reviews just a little bit smarter!

The Rules:

 Write a post to show your award.

Give a brief story of how your blog started.

Give two pieces of advice for new bloggers.

Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog.

Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to.

How My Blog Started:

I began my blog on New Year’s Eve 2014.  I’d been mulling over the idea for a couple of months and decided what better time to take the plunge than the New Year?  I have been a passionate (insane? obsessive?) reader for pretty much my whole life.  I am part of a fun book group, but I felt like I needed another outlet for my love of books, another way to talk about them with people who were as devoted to reading as I am.  I was already a dedicated Goodreads user, and had begun to read a couple of book blogs regularly (Stefanie’s So Many Books and Rebecca’s Of Books and Bicycles were probably the first.)  They were both on WordPress, so I decided to use that format too.  I am pretty much a computer/technological Luddite, so the ease of the WordPress format lured me in.  I am so glad that I decided to try this. It’s been truly rewarding and satisfying to “meet” you guys – such a wonderful, smart, supportive community of writers and readers!

Advice for New Bloggers:

Um.  I don’t know if I feel qualified to answer this question.  I still think of myself as a relatively new book blogger even though it’s been almost 18 months.  I feel like I’m still kind of making this up as I go along.  My only piece of advice is this:  Write for yourself, on your own schedule, because you genuinely want to do it.  Write what you’re interested in writing (and, of course, read what you’re interested in reading.)  If blogging becomes a chore, or just another thing on your to-do list, then maybe take a break.  Your followers/fellow Book Nerds will still be there when and if you return.

I don’t think I want to tag other bloggers with this award, since I don’t know how long this thing has been floating around and who’s already done it.  But I want you to know, if you are reading this, that what you do truly adds to the quality of my life.  I value your unique perspectives and histories, what you as an individual bring to your book reviews and what you choose to share about your lives.  I thank you for reading and commenting on my blog, for letting me know that I’m not just throwing this out there into the void.  Writing this blog has been nothing but a pleasure for me so far, and I look forward to the new adventures it will bring!

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award: Thanks, Ioana!

  1. Very nice! You’ve only been at this for 18 months? You seem like an old pro! And by the way, I’ve been doing this for over a decade and it still frequently feels like I am making it up as I go along 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Stefanie. That makes me feel better! Your blog was really the first one I read regularly. I don’t remember how I found it but when I did I said, Ah, now here’s what I’ve been looking for! Thanks for writing!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Laila, thank you so much for your sweet comment.
    You have such a lovely, clear, and passionate way of writing about books (so much so that I am now even considering reading Middlemarch, which I was seriously afraid of before). Books are lucky to have you as an advocate! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

