In Progress, and Jane Austen Bingo

I hope the weekend is treating you well and you’re finding time to read!  Lately I feel like I just can’t make much progress, but the tide may be turning, since last night I knocked out a big chunk of my current read, Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale.

81j3rfXRwmL

Now I know I just wrote a post about not being able to choose a book on a whim.  But that’s pretty much how I chose this particular book!  I love the Goodreads List 2016: What Women Born in the 1970s Have Read So Far This Year.  This is the fifth year that the list has existed.  I am kind of obsessive about putting down what I read on that list and seeing where it falls, how many other people are reading it, etc.  I don’t know.  It’s just my jam.  So far this year the top two spots have alternated between The Nightingale and The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins.

I read Girl on the Train, and it was just… okay.  I know so many people loved it, but I really feel like there are so many better written thrillers out there that didn’t get the attention they deserved in the shadow of GOTT.  So basically I decided to read The Nightingale because “everyone” else is reading it and I want it to beat GOTT for the number one slot on the Goodreads list!  Am I insane?  Quite possibly.22557272

I have never read Kristin Hannah before, but I am told that this historical novel is a departure for her, because she usually writes contemporary women’s fiction.  (Whatever THAT means.  That seems like such a bogus, made-up genre to me, but what do I know?)  It’s set in France in World War II, and the main characters are sisters – an older one who is married, a mother, and more reserved, and an impetuous, brash younger sister.  I will say that the plot of The Nightingale has me turning pages super-fast.  But as I get over the half-way mark, the SAD STUFF starts really piling up.  And I find myself having to skim over certain sections, especially about mothers and children.  The writing is okay.  It’s not bad.  But it’s not really the quality of writing that rings my bookish bell.   However, the story is indeed compelling enough.  So I predict that by the end of the weekend I will be done with The Nightingale.  Next on deck after that:  Paul Beatty’s The Sellout.   Talk about bookish whiplash!

51gc1HCCV8L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_On a totally unrelated note, I feel compelled to share something that one of my book group members put on Facebook the other day.  It’s a Jane Austen Bingo Card!  I think it’s been around a while, but you may have seen it floating around lately.  I absolutely cackled when I read it.  Click the link and be prepared to laugh.  You don’t have to be an ardent Austenite to appreciate it.

What are you reading right now?  Have you read The Nightingale, Girl on the Train, or The Sellout?  Tell me in the comments.

 

 

10 thoughts on “In Progress, and Jane Austen Bingo

  1. Hahaha, I love your reaction to “contemporary women’s fiction”. Very glad that a bona-fide librarian shares my feelings about that supposed genre.

    The Nightingale has like almost perfect reviews on Amazon which is bizarre (especially from SO MANY people) – but then some of the reviewers complain that it’s not very historically accurate. Can’t wait to read your review of this 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ioana, I don’t know if I’m going to do an actual review of it on the blog. I gave it three stars on Goodreads. I guess I’m glad I read it because then I can talk about it with patrons and recommend it to certain people. But I have mixed emotions about it. It certainly wasn’t a five-star read for me. I’m kind of picky about the quality of writing that I like. To each her own, I guess!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. What a great list, now I feel compelled to check what women born in the 70s are reading!! 😀 I have to admit I really enjoyed Girl on the Train, I listened to it (my first audiobook) on two long bus journeys in one weekend and it was amazing. Who knows if it will hold up on a reread, but I found it much better than the usual hyped thrillers (the few I read : D).
    I think I might have seen the cover of The Nightingale around, but not sure it’s something I’m into atm. Did you enjoy it then? It’s always interesting to see how books picked up on a whim turn out 🙂
    Ah you know how excited I’m to hear what you think of The Sellout!!
    Off to spy on that GR list now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I gave both GOTT and Nightingale three Goodreads stars. Liked okay, didn’t love, didn’t think either is especially worthy of all the hype. But I think that an audio book version might really push me over into a 4 star rating of GOTT.

      I’m totally gonna write a post about The Sellout. So far I am LOVING it. It’s wild!

      Like

  3. How funny! I found an 80s list at the beginning of the year and have been meticulously updating it as well! Girl on the Train was way up there also. Can’t think what was number one off hand. I loved the Bingo card! Had to send that to a few friends. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hahaha thank you so much for sharing the Jane Austen Bingo! I have been at the computer, giggling to myself like a crazy person. I was also interested to see your thoughts on GOTT, it’s had so much hype recently but I just haven’t felt that drawn to it. From the other comments, an audiobook version sounds like it might be the way to go though. Off to check it out… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Harriet, thanks for stopping by and commenting. Yes, LOTS of hype for GOTT. I turned the pages rather quickly. The plot was pretty good. it was the writing and characters that I wasn’t really in love with. But give the audiobook a try!

      Like

Leave a Reply

