Ten (Not Twenty) Books of Summer

Cathy at 746 Books is hosting her annual 20 Books of Summer event for the third year running.  I have been mulling over participating for days now, and today I finally decided to take the plunge and join in.  See, I’m a notoriously contrary reader, as my lackluster attempt at participating in the TBR Triple Dog Dare earlier this year proved.  I hate feeling hemmed in, both physically and in my reading choices.  I now embrace the “mood-reader/free-range reader” tag joyfully.  This is me being me!10booksfinal

Mercifully, however, Cathy is generous and flexible with her rules, so she is allowing participants to structure their challenges to their tastes.  I am joining a few others in a TEN Books of Summer option.   So from June 1 through September 5, I’ll be reading ten books from my ridiculous and ever-growing Goodreads TBR.  I figure that I can commit to reading ten titles that I would have wanted to read anyway, and that still leaves me breathing room for book choice whimsy!

Here are my ten (in no particular order:)

  1. Jane Steele by Lyndsay Fay.  Supposedly a Jane Eyre-ish retelling, except this Jane is a Victorian SERIAL KILLER.  I hope this is as fun as I want it to be.
  2. Lab Girl by Hope Jahren.  I’ve seen nothing but praise for this science/nature non-fiction title, from trusted sources.  Really looking forward to it.41QVmFj2U9L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_
  3. Lagoon by Nnedi Okorafor.  I’ve been meaning to read something by this author for a while now, and this one looks super interesting to me.  Plus it’s set in Lagos, Nigeria, which is the setting for my current read, Every Day is For the Thief by Teju Cole, and I’m completely fascinated by that part of the world.  Which brings me to…
  4. Open City by Teju Cole.  I’m REALLY liking Every Day, so I think I want to jump right into his other book.
  5. Bellweather Rhapsody by Kate Racculia.  Gin Jenny from Reading the End called this a grown-up version of Ellen Raskin’s The Westing Game and that was all that I needed!
  6. Means of Evil and Other Stories by Ruth Rendell.  Because Ruth Rendell. Inspector Wexford forever!56abcc1b1f00007f00216f6a
  7. The Vegetarian by Han Kang.  I was on the fence about this one until I read positive things from many trusted sources.  Plus, I bet it will be a Tournament of Books choice for next year.
  8. High Rising by Angela Thirkell.  I looooove me some mid-20th century British fiction.  I hope this scratches that itch!
  9. 51SX3bAWW0L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_Writing My Wrongs by Shaka Senghor.  After Whitney at Brown Books and Green Tea gave this a stellar review, I knew I had to read it.  Looks really powerful.  Speaking of powerful…
  10. The Book of Night Women by Marlon James.  I ADORED his History of Seven Killings, so this is a no-brainer for me.  It’s probably going to wreck me, but I think I’m ready for it.

I own but three of these titles and the rest are coming from the library.  I’ve got Jane Steele checked out right now so that might be my next read.  I’m on a waiting list for Writing My Wrongs but I am hopeful that it will become available before Sept. 5!

If you’re feeling like taking the (small-ish) plunge with me, head over to Cathy’s 746 Books for more info!

 

22 thoughts on “Ten (Not Twenty) Books of Summer

  1. There are so many on this list I want to read! I also have Jane Steele out form the library right now, but am not sure I will get to it in time, so I didn’t add it to my list. Hopefully, I’ll get to read it anyway. I can vouch for Lab Girl – so good! Happy Reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love your selection to much Laila! A bunch of these are on my list too – Jane Steele has been sitting on my shelf since it came out… Lab Girl is also at the top of the list, as well as the Book of Night Women (or something else by Marlon James, I need to read him already). Also – just read my first book by Okorafor! (Binti) So will def. have to look into the Lagoon as well.
    Not sure if I can “commit” to specific books for this summer – agreed with you, I need plenty of room for ‘mood reading’ 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Ioana. I definitely understand your hesitation! I debated for DAYS with myself about whether or not to participate. And then I was like, well, why not take the 10 Books “baby-steps” option? That leaves a little wiggle room for mood reading! (And Middlemarch, LOL!)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Yay for being a mood reader! 🙂 I love seeing all these lists, though summer usually means paper writing for me and this year exam prep 😦 But I might make a wish-I-could- read list.
    Yes to Lagoon!! I also have Jane Steele on the tbr, trying the audio. And Book of Night Women (thought I’d try his earlier work first). Hope you get to read all the books and have a wonderful summer!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Awesome list! which means “I TRUST YOU” because I’ve only heard of about 3 of them… But I just know they will be amazing!! I don’t think I could stick to a list of 20 either. I have one book so far on my list and that is Big Magic. Maybe Land More Kind than Home. maybe.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

