Every Day Is For The Thief by Teju Cole

An utterly compelling read, Teju Cole’s Every Day is For the Thief is hard to categorize.  I guess that’s the point, as Cole seems like an author who wants to test the limitations of traditional fiction.  A 162-page novella that reads more like a series of travel narratives/essays, the book highlights the frustrating and fascinating characteristics of modern day Lagos and Nigeria in general.  I thoroughly enjoyed it, but it left me wanting more.

IMG_3483We see Nigeria through the eyes of an unnamed narrator, who’s come home after 15 years in America.  He’s staying with his aunt and uncle, as his father has passed away and his mother lives in America and has been largely absent from his life for years.  He reconnects with old friends and relatives, visits an internet cafe where he spies men composing their advance fee fraud letters, and searches for signs of creative life in the few local book and music stores.  He observes the constant flow of corruption that greases almost every transaction in Lagos.  He must get used to the nightly interruption of electric service, where those with means can fire up their generators for an hour or two, but then it’s darkness.

There is a lovely scene where our narrator observes a woman on a bus reading a book by the Sri Lankan/Canadian author Michael Ondaatje, a favorite author of his.  Cole writes,

Mysterious woman.  The condition of the book, from the brief glimpse I have of it, suggests that it is new.  Where could she have bought it?  Only in two or three of the few bookshops I know in the city.  And if she bought it in Lagos, how much would it have cost her?  More than any normal rider of the Lagos public transportation would consider reasonable, that much is certain.  Why, then, is she on the bus?  Because it is what she could afford, or is it because she, too, is an eccentric?  The questions come to my mind one after the other, and I cannot untangle them.  I hunger for conversation with my secret sharer, about whom, because I know this one thing, I know many things.

In contrast, there is also a heartbreaking, terrifying vignette about an eleven year-old market thief, who was violently killed for stealing a bag six weeks before our narrator visits the market.  The narrator imagines the boy’s terror and the violence of the crowd who is punishing him, beating him, lighting him on fire.  It is a difficult passage to read, but it is also part of the fabric of Lagos that our narrator must weave into the total picture.

I devoured this slim, elegantly written book.  Maybe it’s partly because I haven’t read much about Nigeria beyond Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s brilliant Americanah, which I adored.  I am eager to learn more about this fascinating but seemingly maddening part of the world.  I plan on reading Cole’s second novel, Open City (some have said the narrators in both books are the same) later this summer.  I also plan on reading the rest of Adichie’s novels.  I would love some other recommendations, both fiction and nonfiction, about Nigeria or by authors of Nigerian descent, so please let me know of your favorites in the comments.

 

15 thoughts on “Every Day Is For The Thief by Teju Cole

  1. I’m sadly unacquainted with Nigerian writing, and my Dad is always chiding me about it. I hope to remedy that this year. This sounds like a very interesting book! My family in Lagos are so used to interruptions in electricity at random times, that it’s not even funny. Great review, as always Laila. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Evie! Oh wow, I don’t know if I knew about your Nigerian heritage. Or I did but I forgot. Anyway. Have you ever visited? I wonder what the reception in Nigeria was for Teju Cole’s writing. This was a good book and short, too, so one could probably read it in a day. I found a Goodreads list of book by Nigerian authors, so I put a few on my TBR. Here’s the link:
      https://www.goodreads.com/list/show/28412.Books_by_Nigerian_Authors

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve never visited! But I know that I should at some point. Learn about my roots. I’ll definitely check out the list. I’ve been meaning to read Nigerian classics for some time, but the themes are ones I struggle with even in American classics, like slavery, bad treatment of women, etc. So hopefully I can find something that is a little more neutral.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. There are so many great stories coming out of Nigeria and people with roots in Nigeria. I hadn’t realized until last week how many Nigerian authors are lining my shelves. I want more!

    A few I recommend: Elnathan John, Chris Abani, Chinelo Okparanta, and Abubakar Adam Ibrahim. 🙂 Keep reading like you do, Laila.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. SINCE YOU ASK — honestly, there’s so much Nigerian fiction I’ve read/want to read, I’m going to give you way too many recommendations. But okay, one of my favorite weird-literary-fiction authors, Helen Oyeyemi, was born in Nigeria (she lives in the UK now, I think). Elnathan John has a new book out this year that’s supposed to be amazing. Nnedi Okorafor is a Nigerian-American author who writes fantasy and science fiction, and I liked her book Lagoon quite a bit when I read it earlier this year. What else, what else. I read books by Jowhor Ile and Sefi Atta recently that I thought were quite good. I don’t know Julie Iromuanya’s background, but her book Mr. and Mrs. Doctor is about Nigerian immigrants, I believe. (okay I’ll stop)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I WILL TAKE ALL THE NAMES. Thank you, Jenny! Lagoon is on my list of books for Cathy’s (746 Books) #20 Books of Summer. I’ve never read Okorafor but I’ve heard nothing but praise.

      Like

  4. So interesting, I am coming across so many books set in/about Nigeria or by Nigerian authors recently! Just in the past couple months I’ve also fallen in love with Helen Oyeyemi and Nnedi Okorafor (so I second Jenny!) and also read some newer authors from there (Jowhor Ile). Wonderful review!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Cole is on my list to read but I haven’t been able to get to him yet. Sometimes I feel like I will never get the chance to read half the books I really want to! Everyone has already given you the names of the writers I know about but there are some new ones there I will have to look in to.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

