Top Ten Tuesday: Second Half of 2016 Most Anticipated

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic, hosted by The Broke and Bookish, is Top Ten Most Anticipated Releases For The Second Half Of The Year.  This was a fun list to compile!  I’m mostly a backlist, free-range reader.  But since I work at a public library, I do have access to new books as soon as my library can acquire them and put them in the system. Some of my favorite authors are coming out with books this fall, so without further ado, here’s my list!

  1. 22813605Hunger by Roxane Gay.  I’ll read anything by her, and this is about body image/weight/food issues, which is something I’ve dealt with my whole life.  It’s a no-brainer for me.  I’ll probably buy it.
  2.  A Gentleman in Moscow by Amor Towles.  I know almost nothing about this except it’s set in Russia in the 1920s.  All I need to know is that Amor Towles wrote it.  I LOVED his first novel, Rules of Civility.  This man can write.
  3. Today Will Be Different by Maria Semple.  Semple is a funny, quirky writer and I really enjoyed Where’d You Go, Bernadette?  That’s enough for me.
  4. 28250841The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead.  Whitehead is such a fantastic writer,  and many trusted sources have said that this one is amazing.  I can’t wait.
  5. Commonwealth by Ann Patchett.  Family Saga!  Ann Patchett!  SOLD!
  6. Known and Strange Things: Essays by Teju Cole.  Having recently become a Teju Cole fan, I’m delighted to know that he’s coming out with a book of essays.
  7. Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders.  This one is not slated to come out until 2017 but this is my list, so I make the rules.  I can’t wait to see what the master of the short story does with a novel.
  8. The Mothers by Brit Bennett.  From the Goodreads blurb: “Set within a contemporary black community in Southern California, Brit Bennett’s mesmerizing first novel is an emotionally perceptive story about community, love, and ambition.” Looks good!
  9. Hag-Seed by Margaret Atwood.  Atwood’s revisioning of Shakespeare’s The Tempest.   I am so there for this.29245653._UY2250_SS2250_
  10. Talking As Fast As I Can by Lauren Graham.  I love fluffy celebrity autobiographies!  And I love Gilmore Girls!

So what books are you looking forward to in the next six months?  Go ahead, make my TBR even longer!

 

29 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Second Half of 2016 Most Anticipated

  1. Fun list!! I am also excited about the new Atwood… If I had to choose a favorite author, then I’m pretty sure it would be her. I have also seen a lot about Lincoln in the Bardo, so that’s on my list too!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oooh you all are killing my tbr! 😀 I have Hunger on the top of my release list and also the new Jemisin and Ward. Need to add the Cole and Whiteheadsince Whitney’s review made it sound so great. Heh love this “backlist, free-range reader!” Can I have this on a button please!? 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. FictionFan, I almost squealed aloud when I saw that Towles was coming out with a new book. And I’ve had mixed feelings about these Shakespeare and Austen updates that have been coming out lately – but if anyone can do something interesting with Shakespeare it’s bound to be Atwood! And The Tempest is one of my favorite Shakespeare plays.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Wonderful list, and very inspiring 🙂 I am also looking forward to Colson Whitehead’s Underground Railroad – I’ve heard nothing but rave reviews so far of this book and his work in general (this will be my first). Also, had no idea that Atwood had a new book coming out – YES!!! Thank you for featuring this. And I’m also going to have to add the gentleman from Moscow seeing as I’m always looking to read book about Eastern Europe.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hag-Seed!! Commonwealth! The Underground Railroad! Lots of goodies to look forward to. I’m thinking I might need to re-visit The Tempest in preparation.
    I also love The Gilmore Girls, but am not as likely to read celebrity memoirs. I’ll wait and see on this one – I could easily be convinced.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I was thinking of a revisit to The Tempest myself. It’s been since college! And I understand about celebrity memoirs – they are often really bad! 🙂 But sometimes I enjoy one as a “light read.”

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Lots to look forward to! Amor Towles, Margaret Atwood and Roxane Gay are right up there. I’m mostly a “backlist” reader too, lol! But shiny new books are always awesome! There’s something about reading a book fresh off the press that not even reading galleys can touch.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t even get ARCs or galleys – I haven’t taken that plunge yet. I figure I’ve got 600+ books on my TBR, I don’t need to add any more, ha ha! And I’m not much for e-reading, really. Although I do enter those Goodreads contests! So far I’ve only won two of those. I agree, that shiny new hardback is a thing of beauty. For me, it is a rare treat reserved for very favorite authors.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I used to never win any on goodreads and then a couple years ago they started coming by themselves, and even started getting electronic ones. I was burned out. Just recently donated all of them and deleted the ebooks. I feel like it’s a fresh start. Nothing like checking out a book after it’s been edited with a legit book cover. That’s just me, though. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I will also be reading Hunger. Everything Roxane Gay writes is irresistible!
    Gosh, Atwood is such a prolific writer. I hope she keeps blessing the literary world with her work.

    Hmm, I haven’t thought much about upcoming releases. I’m focusing mostly on the books I already own. But I am eager to read N.K. Jemisin’s sequel to The Fifth Season. Buying that day 1.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay for Roxane Gay! I know, Margaret Atwood is just amazing. I am in awe of her. I’ve not read N.K. Jemison before – but I’ve read your glowing review! It’s so fun when we can anticipate a favorite author’s book coming out and get it right away!

      Like

  7. This is such a good list of anticipated reads! The Underground Railroad was a lot for me at times, and while I think it’s great, I thought the ending was a bit incomplete. Hunger is also on my list! I’ve been remiss in reading Roxanne Gay, and I plan on hop on that train immediately!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There’s a lot of excitement for Hunger. I can’t wait myself. I’ve not yet read her novel Untamed State – I didn’t think I could handle it. But I’ve heard it’s amazing. I really liked Bad Feminist.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Oo, I didn’t know Teju Cole was putting out a book of essays. Excellent! I’m into that! I haven’t read his books because they seem to be on the picaresque side, and I’m not about that life, but he sounds like a cool guy and I’d like to enjoy him as an author. Essays! Perfect way to do it!

    Like

    1. So I totally Googled picaresque – not ashamed to admit it! I will say that Cole’s Every Day is for the Thief did not strike me as told from the POV of a rogue. The chapters read like little travel essays to me. FWIW. I’m excited to read his actual essays, though!

      Like

Leave a Reply

