Podcast Talk and The Slump

So I’ve been in a little reading slump the past week or so.  I haven’t finished a book since June 21.  I’m currently reading five books (Middlemarch, Jane Casey’s The Burning, I Thought It Was Just Me (But It Isn’t) by Brené Brown, The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo, and The Book of Night Women by Marlon James.)  The Marlon James is exquisite – he’s just a marvelous writer – but it’s really hard reading, emotionally.  So I’ve put it aside for the moment.  But I will definitely come back to it.  The Brené Brown is valuable and smart (self-help) but a little on the dry side, so I’ve just been picking at it a few pages at a time.  And I’m still loving Middlemarch, but I’ve only got one section to go, and I need to write about the penultimate section before I begin the final one.  I’m determined to finish at least TWO of these books before I start another one!  I don’t like the feeling of having all these books “open,” so to speak.  But I only have myself to blame for this predicament.  The one that is totally grabbing me out of that stack is the British mystery novel  The Burning.  In fact, it’s quite a page-turner, and I’m into the second half and don’t want to put it down.  I hope this means that I am coming out of the slump.  Fingers crossed!

In the meantime I continue to explore the world of podcasts.  You may remember that I only started listening to them last fall.  I began listening to Books on the Nightstand this past March.  This week brings the final regular episode of Books on the Nightstand.  (Sad face emoji here.)  Ann and Michael announced the end a few weeks ago, so we all knew it was coming.  I’m sad that I won’t get to have their conversation and recommendations in my ears every week, but I understand the hosts’ desires to be able to do more of their own free-range reading that’s not connected to recommending things for the podcast.  And we have all the episodes available – all 389 of them!  It’s quite an achievement, I think, to have been around that long.nightstand-illuminating

Their final regular episode (a special blooper episode is coming out next week) features Ann’s and Michael’s Fiction Preview for books coming out in the next nine months.  I haven’t listened to it yet (saving it, I guess?) but just scanning the list in the show notes, it’s going to make your TBR explode.  Quite a few of these are already on my list!

Since I’ll have some more room in my life for another podcast shortly, I’ve started listening to Reading the End, hosted by the “demographically similar Jennys” – Gin Jenny and Whiskey Jenny.  I was already regularly reading their blog, so I don’t know what took me so long to try their podcast.  It is just plain fun and delightful.  cover170x170The one I just listened to was episode 55, from February of this year, in which the Jennys discuss their favorite literary couples and talk about the book that Gin Jenny made Whiskey Jenny read because she thought she would hate it.  (It was Planetfall by Emma Newman.)  They each picked books for one another and called it “The Hatening.”  I just love their willingness to try fun experiments like this!  If you haven’t given Reading the End a listen, I definitely recommend it.

On a totally unrelated note, tomorrow’s my son’s birthday!  He’s turning five!  I can not believe it.  I’ve never felt five years pass so quickly before.  We had his party last weekend with family and friends, but tomorrow we’ll be celebrating with just the three of us.  I hope that you all have a wonderful weekend and let’s hope I can finish some of these darned books soon!

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Podcast Talk and The Slump

  1. Happy birthday to your son! I’m so glad you’re enjoying The Burning – Jane Casey very quickly turned into a must-read author for me after reading that one. Is it the first of her books you’ve read? If so, you have several treats ahead of you… 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds more like you are stuck in “The Middles” than having an actual slump so just keep turning the pages of The Burning and you will soon feel better! I am not a podcast listener but I keep intending to give the Reading the End one a try especially since I like Jenny’s blog so much. When do I fit it in though? Sigh. A big happy birthday to your son. I hope all the celebrating has been lots of fun!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, Stefanie, I like “The Middles.” I’ll have to remember that. I used to think I didn’t have time to listen to podcasts but once I began, I found the time! 🙂 Mostly while doing tidying up tasks or getting ready for work.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. A holiday baby! How fun. My mom’s birthday is on Saturday. Sounds like you’re juggling a lot of good books, but sorry about your slump. Those can be annoying. I’ve been meaning to listen to the Snap Judgement podcast, but haven’t managed to get there. Hope you have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Eve, his due date was July 3, but I was induced – I joke that the doctors didn’t want to have to deliver on the 4th, ha ha! I haven’t heard of Snap Judgement, I’ll have to look that up. Hope you have a great weekend too!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. slump-schlump – I agree with Stef. More like a case of the middles and juggling issues! I just can’t for the life of me get into podcasts! I feel like I should be listening to books. But I have listened to the Jennys because they are awesome. Funny, I feel like I know/knew the Books on the Nightstand folk (from Twitter) and still never got around to listening to their podcast! and was all “oh, I *know* them” when people suggest I should. too funny. Also, there is another podcast team that has even mentioned ME in one of their episodes and I can’t even remember what it’s called. (I can find them on Twitter.) I am just much more of a visual WORD-SEE-er person than a listener. But I love audios. Go figure. I’m rambling…
    I’ll shut up now. Are you folding your socks in a respectful kind manner?
    Happy B-day to the kid.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Care! I wasn’t familiar with “the middles” before Stefanie’s comment, or if I’d heard it before, I’ve forgotten it! 🙂 The good thing is, the Books on the Nightstand podcasts will still be around for the next two years I think, so if you change your mind, they’ll be there! I understand about feeling like you should be devoting the time to books. I don’t do audio books on my phone (I have very little space, only 8GB) but when I do get a new phone with more memory, I’ll try Audiobooks.com or some other audio book app!

      Like

  5. Aw, thanks for the shout-out! We are on a mopey hiatus at the moment, and it is bumming me out. But Whiskey Jenny is finished with her move, and I am finished with the wedding I was in, so hopefully we’ll be able to come back from the hiatus soon.

    Here’s to your reading slump being busted!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome, Jenny! I am still catching up on older episodes but eagerly await new eps from you guys. And I *think* the slump is busted! I may even finish The Book of Night Women tonight! It’s enthralling.

      Like

Leave a Reply

