BRL Quarterly Report #5

Since we’re midway through July already (!) it’s time to do another Quarterly Report, analyzing my reading from April through June.  Apparently this was my quarter for graphic novels!

Total books read: 22

Fiction: 17

Nonfiction: 5

Audiobooks: 1 (The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg)

Juvenile/Middle Grade Titles: 1 (The Case of the Time-Capsule Bandit by Octavia Spencer)

Graphic Novels: 7 ( I read Vols. 3-8 of Fables and March: Book One by John Lewis)

Authors of Color: 7

Published in 2016: 4@thiskitsch

Favorite Reads This Quarter:

Seven graphic novels!  Apparently I’ve caught the bug.  I’m still enjoying the Fables series, but am wanting to branch out and try some others.  I’m currently reading Lumberjanes, Vol. 1: Beware the Kitten Holy and so far it’s fun!  And I’ve got March: Book Two checked out from the library. If you’ve got a suggestion for another graphic novel or comic I should check out, please let me know in the comments!

Now that I’ve finally finished Middlemarch, I’m taking a break from classics for just a little while.  My plan is to tackle another one in September.  I’m considering a few titles and might even do a poll to help me decide!

Since we’re halfway through the year, how are you doing on your reading goals?  I’d love to hear about your progress.

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “BRL Quarterly Report #5

  1. I’m so glad you got the graphic novel bug! They can be a lot of fun, and there are so many genres to choose from. I’m one book behind (as Goodreads so graciously reminds me when I log in), but I’ve been enjoying quite a few books that are out of my comfort zone. That’s always a plus.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Eve, I don’t know what took me so long to try graphic novels. There are so many that look interesting. And I know they’re helping my Goodreads reading challenge stats this year – otherwise I’d be on track or behind. I usualyl set my Goodreads challenge low deliberately, so I don’t feel pressured! I am so glad that you’ve been enjoying getting our of your comfort zone! I have too.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Huzzah for the graphic novel bug! You’ve read Saga already, right? Oh, and have you read Marc Bernardin and Afua Richardson’s Genius? That one’s super great and revolutionary and awesome, so read that one. You should read also Nothing Can Possibly Go Wrong, by Prudence Shen, because it is adorable, oh and also The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl too. Read all those.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ugh, NO I haven’t read Saga yet because my library doesn’t have it! Ridiculous! I’ll check out the others you mentioned – Squirrel Girl is on my radar. Thanks, Jenny!

      Like

  3. I don’t read graphic novels as a rule, but I did read Neil Gaiman’s The Truth is a Cave in the Black Mountains, illustrated by Eddie Campbell, and it was wonderful! Goals-wise, I was doing fine till this last few weeks, but I haven’t even picked up a book in days now. I’m thinking I’ll have to turn to some comfort re-reading… Darcy and Lizzie perhaps!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Somehow, through no plan of my own, I have ended up reading a lot of fantasies/sci-fi recently! With a sprinkling of romance. I’ve also been making my slow way through Kent Haruf’s Our Souls at Night and a memoir by a modern light-house keeper (Caroline Woodard is the author in case you’re interested!) but as I said it’s a reaalllyyy sloowww progress! 🙂 I’m also hoping to read the third in the Tiffany Aching series! I do so love that I HAVE SO MANY PRATCHETTS STILL LEFT FOR ME TO EXPLORE! Fills me with glee, I tell you! 😛

    Btw, my hubby really enjoyed The Nest too! 🙂 And I’m very interested in seeing what you pick up for your next classics read!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It sounds like you’ve had a nice variety in your reading lately! I like that. I definitely want to read the Kent Haruf. But I want to read his third novel before I read Souls at Night. I still haven’t read any Pratchett – I need to!

      Like

  5. I’m not doing well as far as my Goodreads challenge goes, but I deliberately set a high number, and I’m not surprised. I’ve read some great books, though — my favorite is probably Lab Girl.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

