(Sort Of) In Progress

My son starts kindergarten Tuesday.  His dad and I are feeling all kinds of feelings, as you can probably imagine.  Excitement, nervousness, sadness, disbelief all rolled up into one state of what I call general “floopiness.”  Consequently, I can’t seem to concentrate on reading.  I finished Lumberjanes Vol. 1 on July 15 and since then I’ve been reading things in dribs and drabs.  (It was cute, by the way.  I’ll definitely get the second volume and see how I like it.)  I find myself wanting to watch movies and The Great British Baking Show on PBS more than I want to pick up a book.  (I am slightly obsessed with that show – it’s everything delightful!  Beautiful, intricate baked goods, humble, adorable British people who seems to genuinely like one another and want one another to do well – I just love it.)

I had to return Hope Jahren’s Lab Girl to the library today – woe is me!  I was only 164 pages into it, but it still has a pretty lengthy holds lists.  I couldn’t keep it any longer in good conscience.  I really am enjoying it.  She’s a marvelous writer, marrying memoir with passion for botany.  She makes botany really interesting!  She makes me want to plant trees!  I may go ahead and buy it before a copy makes its way back to me at the library.

16158542I’m listening to The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics by Daniel James Brown on CD in my car.  It’s the sort of thing that I probably wouldn’t pick up to read in paper form, but Michael Kindness’s glowing recommendation on Books on the Nightstand persuaded me to try the audio book.  Oh, and the fact that it’s narrated by the late Edward Herrmann, a.k.a. RICHARD GILMORE from Gilmore Girls!  As promised, he does a fantastic job narrating.  I’m a little over halfway through and think I’ll be able to finish before I must return it to the library.  (More holds!) It’s pretty fascinating, weaving the biography of one of the young boatmen in particular with history of the Great Depression, the Dust Bowl, and the rise of the Nazis in the lead-up to the 1936 Olympics.  I am enjoying it much more than I thought I might!

9781481440875_custom-83c869fee28f9137f21e4e8c5eae3529468e813a-s300-c85I’ve started Nnedi Okorafor’s Lagoon but haven’t gotten far.  It’s definitely intriguing.  Some sort of shapeshifting alien has landed off the coast of Lagos, Nigeria, and a diverse cast of characters are all dealing with the aftermath.  I think I’ll try to get back to this one tonight!  And I’m also halfway through Fables Vol 9: Sons of Empire .  Graphic novels seem to be about my speed these days with my short attention span.

So it seems that I’ve got a case of what Stefanie from So Many Books calls “The Middles.”  I predict that in a few weeks, when my family settles into our new schedule, I will bounce back with more focus and a renewed zeal for reading.  I hope that you all are having a good summer!  Tell me what you’re currently reading in the comments.  Or if you’re like me and having trouble concentrating, what is holding your interest these days?

17 thoughts on “(Sort Of) In Progress

  1. I so rarely read SF that I was intrigued by Lagoon. I think this would scare me too much and make me stay up at night. I’m reading a book set during the plague era and I’m already way too stressed by it, I think Lagoon may be out of my league.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Smithereens, if it makes you feel better I’m halfway through it and not feeling stressed! It’s really interesting so far, but I’m not sure where it’s heading.

      Like

  2. Opps, wordpress cut me short before I finished. I was going to say: Entering kindergarten is a big step, no wonder you’re kind of antsy and distracted! I’m sure this will be wonderful for him and you both!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I didn’t know Kindergarten started in July! I hope your son had a great first day.

    Lumberjanes sounds like such a delightful graphic novel. I’m trying to read more so Nimona and Lumberjanes are both on my TBR.

    Are you going to review Lagoon in your blog, you think? I’d love to read your thoughts on it. I haven’t read it or bought it yet, so I’m still looking to read more opinions on it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Naz, he starts tomorrow. His school system starts kinda early and is done by May 24. They also take two week breaks in fall and spring as opposed to one week.

      Lumberjanes was really fun and I’ll get the second volume soon from the library.

      I will DEFINITELY review Lagoon. I’m about halfway through it and it’s certainly keeping my attention (yay!) but I have NO idea where it’s going. I will definitely read more Okorafor, this is my first.

      Like

      1. Thank you! It went great. He told me this morning (unprompted) that he loves kindergarten and that his teacher is really nice. He’ll go back tomorrow until 12 pm. I think this will be really good for him. We’re lucky to have a great public school system where we live.

        Like

  4. Aw, I’ll keep my fingers crossed for your son. I hope he loves kindergarten!

    The Middles is a very real affliction, and I am just recovering (I hope) from it. I’ve been dealing with it most recently by reading a whole bunch of nonfiction — I’ve finished three books in three days and am getting legit cocky about my ability to read with a swiftness.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks, Jenny! (Glad you’re not in spam again.) With that reading pace you have every right to feel cocky! I know once our schedule settles down and we’re in a routine I’ll get back to cranking out the books.

      Like

  5. hang in there, The Middles pass and then you have a pleasant flurry of finishes before starting off on a bunch of new things.

    Since today is Tuesday, your son has begun kindergarten. I hope he had a good first day and I hope mom and dad are both doing ok too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Stefanie! His first day was very short (2.25 hours!) and he seemed to enjoy it. We’re all tired, but we’ll soon get used to the schedule! (And I made it out of his room before I burst into tears! LOL)

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, Jeanne, as he’s gotten older and more independent I have enjoyed more reading time. I am off on Fridays so his dad and I will have all day together just the two of us, as my husband works evenings. I dare say I will sneak in some reading then. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

