Top Ten Tuesday: Gift Card Wishlist

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday topic, brought to you by The Broke and Bookish, is “Ten Books You’d Buy Right This Second If Someone Handed You A Fully Loaded Gift Card.”  Well, I think we can all agree that this one can practically write itself. But I bet it will be fun to see everyone’s picks.  Here are ten I’d put in my cart with no hesitation.

  • Another Brooklyn by Jacqueline Woodson.  I adored Brown Girl Dreaming.  Must read this one.27213163
  • Crossing to Safety by Wallace Stegner.  I read his Angle of Repose years ago and loved it.  I’ve been meaning to read this one for a long long time.  Two bloggers I follow have written about it and rated it lately, and this put it back on my radar.  Plus, Anne Bogel of the What Should I Read Next? podcast loves it too.
  • The Fire This Time edited by Jesmyn Ward.  I have a feeling that this book of essays on race will be one everyone should read.
  • Lady Susan, The Watsons, Sanditon by Jane Austen.  These are the only Austen works I’ve not read and I just need to do it already.
  • Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie.  I have NO IDEA why I haven’t read this yet.  Ugh.  There is no excuse.
  • Life Among the Savages by Shirley Jackson.  After reading a few of Jackson’s deliciously creepy novels, I really want to read her memoir of family life, which is supposed to be funny and charming.
  • Giovanni’s Room by James Baldwin.  Trying to rectify the fact that I’ve never read any of the brilliant Baldwin’s novels. 31GD90K5XDL
  • Commonwealth by Ann Patchett.  This doesn’t come out till September but I WANT it.
  • Jazz by Toni Morrison.  Working my way through Morrison is a life goal.  This is next.
  • The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead.  I will be buying this when it comes out in September.  I love Whitehead’s range as a writer.

Well, that was fun – only now I want to get online and spend some money.  Have you read any of these titles?  What’s a book you’d buy immediately if you were given a bookstore gift card?

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Gift Card Wishlist

  1. Good choices! I’d like to work my way through Toni Morrison’s books too – in fact, one of them might be what I’d buy if I had a giftcard. Hmm.. since there are currently just under 200 books on my Amazon wishlist it’d be hard to pick… maybe someone will give me a HUGE giftcard… 😉 but I’ll go with Life of Pi and perhaps Colm Toibin’s The Master – to start with…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I need to read Colm Toibin – I’ve not yet done so! It was so fun to think about what I’d pick. And of course, this morning, I have thought of some other books I could have chosen. 🙂 So many books…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The Fire Next Time is definitely one I’d buy too, if I could right now. Can I say, Life among the Savages has some very funny moments, but also, like, it’s sort of weird to read? It’s weird because I know how unhappy Shirley Jackson was in her life, and it’s odd when she writes about her husband and kids in this upbeat way that I know isn’t tremendously reflective of her lived experience.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I had heard some things about Jackson’s life, but haven’t read anything really, so this is good info. I think there’s a new biography of her coming out soon maybe? The author is Ruth Franklin, I think. I’m going to read that for sure.

      Like

    1. Stefanie, my expectations aren’t terribly high for the Austen, but as I am such a huge fan of her finished work, there’s really no excuse for me not to have read them yet! Except that there is only so much time for reading and I’m not independently wealthy. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. What a fun idea for a list. I could probably write one every week and have them all be completely different. Books always feel so urgent to me when I first hear about them, then they fade away as they are replaced by other new-to-me possibilities. There are some that go the distance, though, and they are the ones I try to remember when I’ve got my fully loaded gift card, which is very rare – mostly I like to dream about it. I do like seeing everyone else’s lists, though. And, right now The Underground Railroad would probably be one on my list. Also Commonwealth and The Wonder by Emma Donoghue.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

