My First R.I.P Challenge!

ripeleven250I’m just a little bit excited about this, can you tell?

I was still feeling like a new-ish blogger last fall, and I did not participate in the challenge. As I approach my second blogging anniversary, I am eager to jump in!

This is the 11th Annual R.I.P. Challenge (Readers Imbibing Peril) hosted by Carl at Stainless Steel Droppings.  You can read more about it and join here.

From September 1 to October 31, you can read books (or watch movies/shows, or play games) from these genres, perfect for chillier Autumn nights:

Mystery
Suspense
Thriller
Gothic
Horror
Dark Fantasy

Given my mediocre showing in reading challenges, I’ve chosen Peril the Second.

“Simply halve the requirement of Peril the First. If you choose to take on this Peril, read two books of your choosing that you feel fit the various R.I.P. categories.”

ripnineperilsecond-600x268

I haven’t quite nailed down what I’ll read to fulfill my Peril, but I’m considering Lauren Beukes’s The Shining Girls and Shirley Jackson’s The Sundial (since I own them both and haven’t read them yet.)  But I’d also like to include an author of color so I may read something from Octavia Butler, Tananarive Due, or a mystery by Attica Locke.

In any case, I think it will be fun to read about what everyone else chooses.  I’m kind of a wimp when it comes to scary entertainment, but I do appreciate a nail-biting page-turner. If you have a creepy(ish) book you really love, please suggest it in the comments.  This should be fun!

 

20 thoughts on “My First R.I.P Challenge!

  1. This looks like so much fun! I too am a bit of a scaredy-cat when it comes to scary-in-books – it’s always nice to meet a fellow wimp. 😉 I remember reading Edgar Allen Poe’s short stories when I was in highschool and they scared the jeepers out of me…the one about being buried alive?? (*shudder*)

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Even though I wasn’t planning to, I’ve ended up rereading Black Water Rising with this event in mind. It’s not the kind of book that I think of, when it comes to rereading (even though I’m a lover of rereading in general) but I’m enjoying it immensely. (It’s been more than five years, and I don’t remember many details so far.) Hope you enjoy your first RIP!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This one sounds fun. I like that there are different levels and you’ve chosen a perfectly reasonable one. I’m already joining Bina’s Diverse Detective Fiction Month, so that will count as suspense/thriller, will it not? Can I double dip!? I’ll see if I can join in on the fun for this challenge, but right now I have so much planning to do that it may have to wait before I decide to join or not.
    Have fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yay that’ blogging milestone in my book! 🙂 Hope you’re enjoying your RIP reading and there’s tons of works that fit the challenge but aren’t horribly creepy. Though most of my October reading will be diverse mysteries so I’ve been trying for a bit of horror this month

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

