My Very Late #10BooksofSummer Wrap-Up

I promise I’m not ignoring the book blogging world on purpose, guys.  It’s just that life has been really hectic lately.  I hope things start to calm down soon!

I wanted to wrap up my experience participating in Cathy’s #20BooksofSummer Challenge.  Exercising my self-knowledge, I chose the #10Books path rather than 20.  I know that too much pressure to read results in me NOT reading, just as too much pressure to drop desserts results in my bingeing on chocolate chip cookies.  (Readers and eaters, know thyself!)10booksfinal

So here are my results:

  1. Jane Steele by Lyndsay Faye – Five stars – Loved it!
  2. Lab Girl by Hope Jahren – Had book from library and didn’t finish it in time.  It still has a waiting list on it, and I’m back on the list, so hopefully I’ll get to finish it in the next two months!  What I’ve read was very good.
  3. Lagoon by Nnedi Okorafor.  My first Nnedi book, and I enjoyed it very much.
  4. Open City by Teju Cole.  DNF, sadly.  I really enjoyed his Every Day is For the Thief, but this one was too slow and ponderous for my tastes/mood.
  5. Bellweather Rhapsody by Kate Racculia.  So good!
  6. Means of Evil and Other Stories by Ruth Rendell.  Inspector Wexford doesn’t let me down, y’all.
  7. The Vegetarian by Han Kang.  One of the most memorable books I’ve ever read.  Note I didn’t say I loved it.  But I didn’t hate it either.  It remains an enigma.
  8. High Rising by Angela Thirkell.  Light, cheery, British, fun read.
  9. Writing My Wrongs by Shaka Senghor.  So GOOD.  Highly recommend for those interested in social justice issues.
  10. The Book of Night Women by Marlon James.  ALL THE STARS.  Marlon James is now on my Top Ten Favorite Authors list.

I think 8/10 is a very respectable showing, and I am so glad I took the chance and participated!  Thanks to Cathy at 746 Books for hosting this.  I came away with two five-star reads that will go on my year end Top Ten for sure.

In other news, I’ve once again returned to reading more than one book at a time.  I have decided that I’m cool with alternating between a few things, as long as they’re in different formats (audio, fiction, nonfiction.)  Currently I’m listening to Blood, Bones, and Butter by Gabrielle Hamilton.  So far it’s not knocking my socks off, but I’m still interested.  I’m also reading Sister, Outsider by Audre Lorde, which is TOTALLY knocking my socks off, but it’s so good that I don’t want to rush it.  I just finished Glennon Doyle Melton’s Love Warrior and it hit me right in the gut.  It’s just a beautiful, raw look at how messy being a human being who loves other human beings is.  And it’s about honoring your inner voice and strength, and following your heart.  I loved it.

That’s all from me for now.  I hope you’ve had a very good weekend and that you’re enjoying some good books!

 

15 thoughts on “My Very Late #10BooksofSummer Wrap-Up

  1. I never have enough time to blog hop as much as I want and I feel guilty! But we should’t. Other people understand, right?
    Anyway, 8/10 books is great! Were these the only books you read all summer or did you also read others outside of this list?
    My next Okorafor book will be Lagoon. Well, I may not get to it before Binti 2 releases next January, but it’s my next novel of hers for sure.
    Hope you had a great summer!! I’m ready for fall :]

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh man, I sometimes take a few days away from reading blog posts and then it’s like Holy Cow! I’ll never catch up! 🙂 But then I do, and it’s okay.
      I read other books this summer also – I had to check my Goodreads challenge to check how many – turns out a lot! 7 graphic novels, 1 audio book, 1 middle grade book, 5 novels, 2 nonfiction, and I finished Middlemarch! So maybe I should have gone for the 20 Books path. Only I know that I need to have the freedom to choose what I want to read based on mood and not a prescribed list, even if I’m the list-maker!

      I need to read Binti! I think that will be my next Okorafor. Can’t wait to hear what you think of Lagoon.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. A moat excellent summer! I know exactly what you mean about the Vegetarian! How was it with one book at a time for awhile? Did you like it? Do you feel like you read more? What made you go back to multiple books? Will you write a post about it? Inquiring minds want to know! Also, Sister, Outsider is amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yay for summer reading! I really want to read Lab Girl, and I agree with you about The Vegetarian. I own a copy and I am having trouble wondering who to give it to. I think I’ll just sell it to the used bookstore…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

