Top Ten Fall TBR Books

Y’all should know by now that I can’t resist a TBR list – mine or anybody else’s.  So I had to get in on this week’s Top Ten Tuesday theme, hosted by The Broke and Bookish, which is Top Ten Books on Your Fall TBR.  My Fall TBR is the same as my Winter, Spring, and Summer TBR.  It’s just one massive Goodreads list of 500+ titles that I add to and delete from constantly.  But these are the books that I’m most likely to read before the end of 2016.

  • White is for Witching by Helen Oyeyemi.  For my first ever R.I.P. Challenge!
  • The Sundial by Shirley Jackson.  Also for the R.I.P. Challenge.  I intend to eventually read everything Shirley Jackson has written.  This will be my fourth.
  • The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead.  I am SO READY for this one.
  • The rest of Lab Girl by Hope Jahren.  I started reading this in July, got halfway through, and had to turn in back in to the library because it had holds on it.  It STILL has holds on it, but I’m reading it now and I’m confident I’ll finish it this time.
  • Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew’d by Alan Bradley.  This just came in for me at the library this week.  This is a fun, light mystery series.
  • Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi.  I own it and I have heard NOTHING but good things about it.img_0325
  • Sweetbitter by Stephanie Danler.  This book has a New York City foodie setting, two things I like. Who knows, I may hate this, but I’m going to give it a try.
  • Purple Hibiscus by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie.  My book group is reading it for this month!
  • Modern Lovers by Emma Straub.  I really enjoyed her last novel, The Vacationers, and I have high hopes for this one.
  • Born to Run by Bruce Springsteen.  I am one of the biggest Boss fans you’ll ever meet. He and his music are everything to me.  I pre-ordered this the day I heard it was coming out.  My copy is heading to me through the mail as I write!

Have you read any of these?  What’s something you’ll be reading in the next couple of months?

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Fall TBR Books

  1. I have read Purple Hibiscus and I really enjoyed it. I like Chima’s writing and her 3 novels are quite good. I have Homegoing and Underground Railway on my TBR too. Great choices. Enjoy all your books this Fall. Happy reading.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oyeyemi’s novels have been on my TBR what seems like forever. I’ll be excited to hear what you think. I also was just thinking I need to read all of Shirley Jackson…Oh, why are there so many good books to read?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve read Lab Girl and Homegoing – both good! I’ll be interested to hear about The Sundial – that’s one I don’t hear about very often. I would also like to read all her stuff, but I’m much further behind than you. I’ve read The Lottery, and that’s it. But it was enough to know I wanted to read more.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The problem with other people’s TBR lists is that they have a tendency to add to my own! The Underground Railroad has been tempting me for a while, but I’ve resisted so far. Will your review break my willpower?? And I’d also love to read more Shirley Jackson…

    Hope you enjoy whatever drops off your TBR this autumn! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The Oyeyemi and the Adichie I’ve read; Colson Whitehead’s I want to read very soon (I’ve borrowed it from the library). I’m very interested in the Springsteen biography too. I just finished one called Walk Like a Man, which is a rather personal memoir by Robert J. Wiersema about his coming-of-age with the music of Bruce Springsteen. It is more about loving Springsteen than about the Boss, but there is a short bio of him in there too, which I found more interesting than I expected (I’ve never been big on celebrity memoirs, but maybe I’ve just read the wrong ones), and it took me through quite a few sessions of watching old concert footage which I never thought I’d be keen to do! Hope you enjoy all your picks here!.

    Like

  6. THE SUNDIAL!!! I am not saying The Sundial is my favorite Shirley Jackson book, because I’m not sure it is, but it is the Shirley Jackson book that I ride the hardest for currently, because I feel it’s underappreciated. I hope you love it! And likewise White Is for Witching, which is quite a Shirley-Jackson-ish sort of book.

    I also just finished reading The Underground Railroad — had to read it quick fast because there’s holds on it so I can’t renew it — and thought it was excellent. Not what I expected! There’s a lot more kind of subtweeting of different kinds of shitty racial attitudes in modern America than I was thinking — Cora keeps encountering all these different white communities and how they deal with slavery/free black folks, and Whitehead just gets a LOT of commentary in there. I need to think about it a bunch more now.

    Like

  7. You’re not giving up on Lab Girl! I admire that. Did you start over or continue where you left off?
    Ooh, your club is reading Purple Hibiscus? I’m planning to read it this month too! I hope I do find the time for it but I feel it’s time to finally read the last Chimamanda Adichie book in my collection. 😀

    Laila, I think it’s time to purge you Goodreads TBR of books you’re positive you’re not ever going to read or not going to read any time soon. 500+ is too much. x)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m happy to report that Lab Girl was awesome! I reread the last chapter where I’d left off just to orient myself again.

      Naz, thank you for the tough love on the TBR! I actually do periodocally purge my TBR, but not enough, obviously. I need to try and get it down to say, 300ish? You’re right, 500 is nuts.

      Like

Leave a Reply

