BRL Quarterly Report #6

Happy October!  I am just thrilled that it’s finally not 90+ degrees anymore in Tennessee like it was for all of this last quarter, it seemed.  The past few days it’s been chilly enough in the mornings for me to wear socks and shoes instead of sandals and to throw on a cardigan or jacket.  I am deeply grateful.

big-reading-lifeSeems like I had another nice reading quarter (July, August, September.) When I do these things I’m always surprised by how much reading I’ve done, because it seems like I’m always complaining about not having enough time to read!  I’m pretty psyched about my continuing exploration of graphic novels/comics.  I’ve read some really terrific books this quarter:

Total Books Read: 26

Fiction: 19

Nonfiction: 7

Audio Book: 1  (The Dorito Effect: The Surprising New Truth About Food and Flavor by Mark Schatzker)

Juvenile/Middle Grade: 2 (Esperanza Rising by Pam Munoz Ryan and The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place #4: The Interrupted Tale  by Maryrose Wood)

YA/Teen: 4 (All graphic novels/comics.  The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, Vol. 1 &2 by Ryan North and Erica Henderson, Aya by Marguerite Abouet, and Lumberjanes: Beware the Kitten Holy  by Noelle Stevenson.)

Graphic Novels/Comics: 6 (The above 4 plus Fables Vol. 9: Sons of Empire by Bill Willingham and March Book Two by John Lewis.)

Authors of Color: 9

Published this year: 6

Favorite Reads This Quarter:

I didn’t have written reading goals for this year, aside from my Goodreads Challenge, which I’m definitely going to make.  (I’ve read 65 of 70 books so far.  I deliberately set my number low!)  My unstated goal for every year is to read more works by authors of color.  In 2014, I read a puny 7 works by authors of color.  In 2015, I read 17.  So far this year, I’ve read 18.  My goal is to get to 25 before the end of the year.

How have your goals for the year been going so far?  Anyone met or exceeded goals already?  What’s your favorite book of the last few months?

14 thoughts on “BRL Quarterly Report #6

  1. I will reach my Goodreads goal of 65books for the year, but I don’t make any other specific goals. I try to read more diversely and will analyze the year in December. I try to read 12 off my classics list but am bad about tracking and I think I’ve completed the What’s in a Name challenge – I need to make sure! Congrats on a great reading quarter.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It sounds like a very good quarter! I’m looking forward to getting to the Marlon James at some point — his most recent book was so good, I have to give the earlier one a try! I’m glad you liked it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You’ve read some great books! Every time I see The Book of Night Women I want to immediately pick it up!
    I’ve also been reading some great books – it’s too hard to pick a favourite (which I always say is a sure sign of good reading!). A couple of recent favourites, though, are The Best Kind of People by Zoe Whittall, The Party Wall by Catherine Leroux, and Unless by Carol Shields.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Well done – a great quarter of reading and you’re doing well towards your goals. I shall fail miserbaly at nearly every goal I set myself, but I knew I would when I set them. 😉 And I don’t care – the thing is to enjoy our reading and I expect we’ll both meet that goal!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sounds like an excellent quarter! I always forget to do regular updates like this, but glancing at my spreadsheet, I am doing QUITE WELL on my reading goals. I’m at almost exactly half nonwhite authors, and just about 45% non-American. (I want to get that second one a little higher if I can!) But I haven’t read as many books in translation as I wanted, and I’m way the hell behind on my Africa nonfiction reading project. Win some, lose some.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

