Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Titles Added To My TBR Lately

Who can resist a TBR list?  Certainly not this reader, so I felt compelled to participate in today’s Top Ten Tuesday topic (hosted by The Broke And the Bookish.)  So here are the last ten books I’ve added to my TBR list (which is currently at a modest 376 titles) and my attempt at remembering why I added them (ha ha!)

The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon.  I added this after seeing it on Naz’s blog Read Diverse Books.  He featured it as part of his monthly My Lit Box subscription.  You can read about it here.30650040

Muslim Girl: A Coming of Age Story by Amani Al-Khatahtbeh. I think Naz marked this as “to-read” on Goodreads, but in any case,I need to read more books from a Muslim perspective, and I thought this had promise.

Mrs. Malory Investigates by Hazel Holt.  I added this because I found out that the author was a friend to one of my favorite writers, Barbara Pym, and wrote a biography of her.  I do enjoy the British mysteries, and I’m hoping this won’t be too much on the “cozy” side for me.

 A Lot to Ask: The Life of Barbara Pym by Hazel Holt.  The biography I just mentioned!28815474

The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena.  I’ve seen this around the blogosphere, and a friend in my book group gave it four stars.  I like to read thrillers every now and then, especially to be able to recommend things to library patrons who enjoy that genre.

Girl Up by Laura Bates.  I found this on Katy’s blog (read about it here.)  Goodreads blurb says, “Hilarious, jaunty and bold, GIRL UP exposes the truth about the pressures surrounding body image, the false representations in media, the complexities of a sex and relationships, the trials of social media and all the other lies they told us.”

Welcome to the Universe: An Astrophysical Tour by Neil deGrasse Tyson, Michael A. Strauss, J Richard Gott III.  I found this on FictionFan’s blog (here) and I really need some more science writing to feed my brain.  Plus, Neil deGrasse Tyson is super cool.

Blood Done Sign My Name: A True Story by Timothy B. Tyson.  I found this through Jenny’s review on Shelf Love.  An examination of the racism in a small North Carolina town in the aftermath of a horrible 1970 hate crime from one of the area’s residents.

Happiness and Other Small Things of Absolute Importance by Haim Shapira.  A Goodreads friend gave this a five-star review, and I am always interested in books about happiness and living a “good life.”the-course-of-love

The Course of Love by Alain de Botton.  The story of an ordinary marriage over fourteen years, this came to my attention through Anne Bogel’s Modern Mrs. Darcy blog and her What Should I Read Next? podcast (which I love.)  I heard de Botton on Krista Tippett’s On Being podcast recently, and he just seems so incredibly smart and reasonable, so I definitely want to read some of his work.

I will probably only read one of these anytime soon, but I will get to these one day!  Have you read any of these?  What have you added to your TBR lately?  Let me know in the comments.

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Titles Added To My TBR Lately

  1. I only recall where I found the most recent of stuff on my TBR list, which I’ve stopped counting, because it only gets longer despite my efforts. So this prompt worked okay for me. Neil deGrasse Tyson *is* super cool. Maybe I should add his book to my list… My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Caitlin, I’ve very recently started adding Goodreads shelves for books that I find on other blogs, just so I can remind myself where I’ve seen them. If I’d had to list where I’d found the books in the middle of my TBR list, I’d be in big trouble! 🙂

      Like

  2. Great selection there – I love eclectic lists! I’m about halfway through Welcome to the Universe now and I must say it’s absolutely brilliant. There are a couple of places where it gets too maths-heavy for my poor brain, but mostly it’s really clearly explained – possibly the best book of this type I’ve ever read. And gorgeously designed and illustrated – do get the hardback if you can! Thank you for the link! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve only read The Couple Next Door, which I thought was fun and a bit of a change from my normal reading. But I can’t tell you how it compares to other books in the genre because I rarely read them.
    The one on your list I am most curious about, and have put on my own to-read list, is The Course of Love. I hope it’s good!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. All these books sound wonderful. I like the sound of Muslim Girl, its the kind of book that I would be interested in. I have also heard so many good things about The Couple Next Door although I am yet to read it. I hope that you will enjoy it. Enjoy all these new finds. Happy reading 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

