Top Ten Tuesday: Thankful For Books!

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by Broke and Bookish, is a Thanksgiving freebie.   I honestly don’t know who I’d be if I weren’t a reader.  I don’t know what else I’d do to get the education, enlightenment, companionship, and solace that books provide. Particularly now, when our nation is experiencing such a menacing and unsettling moment, books are providing a comfort to me that leaves me profoundly grateful.  I could have filled this list three times over, but these are the first ten that came to mind.

9780679886297Go, Dog, Go! by P.D. Eastman.  My first favorite book, at least the one I have memories of as a very young child.  I loved the different colored dogs and their crazy tree party!  I selected this not only because I loved it, but because my son loves it too!  He went through a phase where we read it every day, and it made me happy to be able to share a special book with him.

The Nancy Drew Series by Carolyn Keene.  These are the first books I got obsessed with as an independent reader, largely because I found old copies that belonged to my aunt when she was a girl, the hardback ones with the yellow spines.  They’re horrible to read as an adult (seriously, don’t try it) but as a child they ignited my interest in mysteries.

The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin.  Now’s here’s a children’s mystery that definitely holds up even for adults.  I read it somewhere around the age of 9 or 10, and I was utterly captivated.  I’ve reread it twice as an adult, and listened to the audio, and it’s just terrific.

l6un8d4jxqkpkgijh2wvenpm92u2tasakfhvt04wlqojg92b1yaa2rjjnw4wuxzl628ryfr86biudfyfxvrrp9khjzqrlk5vk8rln4mehx7dxj4xhbaqd26wnwsufBark, George by Jules Feiffer.  This picture book is a hilarious crowd-pleaser that I feature regularly in my preschool storytimes.  Parents and kids alike laugh out loud.

The Monster at the End of This Book by Jon Stone.  My son LOVES this book.  He thinks it’s hysterical when Grover implores the reader to stop turning pages!

Excellent Women by Barbara Pym.  A regular library patron recommended her to me some years ago, and I couldn’t be more grateful to her.  It was the first Pym I read, and I discovered an author that I knew I would love and reread for the rest of my life.  Her books are charming, witty, intelligent, with just a hint of melancholy.

Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi.  I am just grateful that this book exists.  I’m grateful that it’s gotten a lot of press, and I feel like it deserves all the praise and even more.  It’s the kind of novel that transports and enlightens at the same time.  I’d make everyone read it if I could.

Case Histories by Kate Atkinson.  The book that introduced me to Atkinson, who is one of my all-time favorite authors.  It’s a knock-out literary mystery and introduces one of my favorite fictional characters, the world-weary but good-hearted Jackson Brodie.

51msjnecgylAmericanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie.  I remember taking my time reading this beautiful, smart, romantic novel because I wanted to luxuriate in Adichie’s writing.  And the story!  Wow!

It’s Easier Than You Think: The Buddhist Way to Happiness by Sylvia Boorstein.  In a very warm and relatable manner, Boorstein writes of her own mental struggles (particularly with anxiety) to elucidate Buddhist principles and how they can make a person feel happier.  I don’t identify as Buddhist but there is so much wisdom here.  I reread this one regularly.

I hope those of you celebrating Thanksgiving this week enjoy your time, be it with family, friends, or just the solace of a good book and a cup of tea!  I know I’m looking forward to my five days off with family.  Let me know in the comments a book that you are thankful for; I would love to read about them.

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Thankful For Books!

  1. NANCY DREW!!!!!
    Hardbacks with oddly painted illustrations and the yellow spines? I have the same ones!
    I tried to re read a few years back and couldn’t even make it through one. I still don’t quite understand why I loved them so. (I think it may have been Ned…I was a diehard romantic even then!) But they did lead me to discover Trixie Belden Mysteries which were WAY better. (I was 12 – so there wasn’t a huge amount of discernment)

    But you are definitely right – I am TOTALLY thankful to have discovered them when I was young…

    Plus Atkinson. I mean – need we really say anymore?
    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. yeah for Nancy Drew! I loved them when I was a kid and an older cousin gave me all of hers. I added to the collection and then gave them all to my niece when she fell in love with Nancy. I don’t know what has happened to them but I hope they get passed on.

    Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. “Do you like my hat?” “No, I do not like your hat.” – I have also loved this book (and read it many, many times)!
    On your theme of children’s books, I’m grateful for Ferdinand the Bull. You don’t see it around very much anymore, but I still think of it when I “stop to smell the roses”.
    Have a wonderful Thanksgiving weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Naomi, I almost put that on my list! I love that book, have always loved it, and my son liked it too when I got it for him. We haven’t read it in a while – maybe tonight! I fancy myself like Ferdinand. I like to just sit quietly and smell the roses. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I too am genuinely thankful to have books in my life. And more recently, I am thankful for the blogging community and all the wonderful people like yourself whom I’ve met and allow me to share my love of books and appreciate me at my booknerdiest!
    These are some lovely books, Laila. Where would we be without that first book that made us fall in love with reading and the more recent releases that prove Literature still has so much to offer?

    Happy Thanksgiving. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh, this list fills me with joy! I’m so glad you elected to give us these books you are thankful for. Shockingly, I never read any of the younger books you mentioned as a child– but I’ve read many of them as an adult. I haven’t read Homecoming has been on my TBR for quite a while– I can’t wait to read it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

