This Is My Genre – Tell Me Yours Tag

I was tagged by Jackie at Death By Tsundoku yesterday, and it couldn’t have come at a better time – I’ve been a real slacker here lately.  In between bingeing on new Gilmore Girls, the Thanksgiving holiday, and my family being sick, I haven’t felt much like blogging.  This is the kick in the pants I need to get back on track!this-is-my-genre-tell-me-yours

Drew@TheTattooedBookGeek created this tag.  Check out his blog!

Question 1:  What is your favorite genre?

While I enjoy many different genres, my go-to favorite is mystery (with a special shout out to British mysteries.)

Question 2: What is your favorite author from that genre?

Nope, no way, can’t pick one favorite.  Some of my favorites include Ruth Rendell, Michael Connelly, Agatha Christie, and Robert Galbraith (A.K.A.,  J.K. Rowling.)

michael_connelly_lincoln_lawyer-_v170342485_
Michael Connelly

Question 3:  What is it about the genre that keep pulling you back?

I love the challenge, to see if I can solve the mystery before the detective/main character does (I usually can’t!) I also love the page-turning, immersive quality of mysteries.  I love literary fiction but I can more easily put a novel in that genre aside, while with (good) mysteries I am so caught up that I don’t want to put them down.  I love the sense of resolution and tidyness that mysteries can (usually, but not always) provide.  And with long-running series, I love seeing how a beloved character develops and changes over time.

Question 4: What is the book that started your love for the genre?1036967

Well, I’ve written before about how the Nancy Drew series and Ellen Raskin’s The Westing Game were integral to my  love for mysteries from a young age.  But I also fell in love with mysteries early on by devouring the Nate the Great books by Marjorie Sharmat, the Cam Jansen series by David Adler, and the Encyclopedia Brown books by Donald Sobol.

Question 5: If you had to recommend at least one book from your favorite genre to a non-reader/someone looking to start reading that genre, what book would you choose and why?

Oh man, this is tough.  I’ve got a few picks that I think are good places to start for a mystery newbie.  For a more literary take on mystery, you can’t go wrong with Kate Atkinson’s terrific Jackson Brodie books.  The first one is Case Histories.  It’s one of my all-time favorite reads.  410dvepm1dl-_sy344_bo1204203200_For a classic British mystery, go with Agatha Christie’s Murder On the Orient Express or The A.B.C. Murders.  For a lighter/cozy-ish spin on mysteries, try Alan Bradley’s Flavia de Luce series.  the_sweetness_at_the_bottom_of_the_pieThey feature an 11-year old precocious British girl with a passion for chemistry and tempestuous relationships with her sisters.  Oh, and she happens to help solve murders.  The first one is The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie.  And for a grittier, more violent detective series, try Michael Connelly’s Harry Bosch books.  Set in Los Angeles, Harry is a Vietnam vet and a maverick detective, often fighting corrupt government officials and fellow policemen.  The first one is The Black Echo.

Question 6:  Why do you read?

I read to learn, to connect, to vicariously experience, to empathize, and yes, to escape.  I read because it’s a central part of who I am.  I read because books are “uniquely portable magic,” as Stephen King said.

Thanks, Jackie, for tagging me.  This was fun!  I’m going to tag a few people because I’d be interested in their takes on it, but if you don’t have time to participate, no worries!  And if I don’t tag you but you’d like to participate, please do so!  Or tell me your favorite genre in the comments below!  If you also like mysteries, tell me some of your favorites.

Tag:

Katie @ Never Listless

Sarah @ Reviews and Readathons

Tara @ Caffeinatious

 

 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “This Is My Genre – Tell Me Yours Tag

  1. I’ve seen this tag around the last week and it looks fun! Glad you found something to get you blogging for now. 🙂
    I love that you said reading is a central part of who you are. It’s the same for me. ❤ I'm so thankful I found my people here!

    You may have seen this in my Rapid Fire Book Tag post, but my favorite genre is Fantasy. I'll just say Speculative Fiction as a catch-all genre because I love all the stories that fall within it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Naz, thanks! I’ll be doing the tag you did later on this week. 🙂 Funny, I was talking about genre with my husband last night, and I mentioned speculative fiction as something I’ve gotten more into in the last few years, and he was like, “that’s not a genre” and so we had a little discussion about it!

      Like

    1. Ha ha! It’s funny, I don’t really do many reviews of mysteries on my blog. It’s like my palate cleanser/escape books, so I think I tend to reserve my reviews for more “serious” books, if you know what I mean. Which is kinda silly. I should review more mysteries in 2017!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for tagging me! I’m working on my post now 🙂

    I hope you’ve been enjoying Gilmore Girls – my husband and I finished the Reunion and: sob!

    And awesome recommendations for mysteries. I haven’t read a ton of mysteries recently, but this post is making me hungry for some more!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I also didn’t realize you were a big mystery fan – fun to know!
    I rarely read mysteries myself. Every once in a while I’ll read one just for fun, but I get so impatient with them – I can’t stand not to know what’s going on. Literary fiction seems to be what I read most of. I’m always dying to know what happens in literary fiction, too, but it’s different. The feeling is not as urgent, maybe?
    I wasn’t into them when I was young, either. I read a few Nancy Drews, but it was my sister who loved all the mystery books while I read LM Montgomery and Little House on the Prairie.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I had to chuckle when I read your comment about getting impatient with not knowing what’s going on. I’d never thought of it from that perspective before! 🙂 It’s funny how some preferences from childhood stay the same and some change a lot. Like I told Stefanie, I’m going to have to write more about mysteries in the future! I guess I’ve kept it a secret so far! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I love what you said about trying to solve the mystery before the detective does lol. I read a lot of mysteries too but my ability to predict the twists haven’t been great so far. I loved Nancy Drew too and Hardy Boys. Great tag!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

