The Rapid Fire Book Tag

Greetings!  Happy December, readers.  I’m slowly getting back into the reading groove after my mediocre/distracted/busy November.  Right now I am reading Michael Connelly’s latest Harry Bosch thriller, The Wrong Side of Goodbye, as well as a reread of Louisa May Alcott’s Little Women.  And I just started a nonfiction book about weight and body image called Body of Truth: Change Your Life by Changing the Way You Think About Weight and Health.  So far I’m enjoying all three!519rtaeemkl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

I saw this tag on Naz’s awesome blog (Read Diverse Books) last week and thought it looked like a fun way to get back in the swing of blogging.  Two book tag posts in a row?  Don’t worry, I’m sure I’ll finish a book soon and write a proper review. So here we go (I warn you, it’s a long one!)

Ebooks or physical books?  Definitely physical.  I stare at a a screen all day at work and don’t want my reading to be one one if I can help it.  I’ve read a couple of ebooks and appreciate their availability and convenience, but I am almost always a paper reading fan.

Paperback or hardback?  Don’t care.

Online or in-store book shopping?  In-store is my preference, but with a young child and a husband who works an almost opposite schedule, my time to browse is almost nil.  So I’ll take whatever book shopping I can get at this point!

Trilogies or series?  No preference.  I read whatever suits the narrative.  I do tend to read mystery series, which can go on forever.  This latest Harry Bosch is the 21st!  But as long as the quality doesn’t go down, I’m in for the long haul.

Heroes or villains?  I want to read characters who are realistic to me in their emotions, thoughts, and actions, regardless of whether or not they’re likeable.  I like flawed characters; they “ring true” to me.  That said, I need at least a shred of goodness in a main character to really love a book.

bn-oc968_gyasi__jv_20160520165430A book you want everyone to read?  I’m going to echo Naz’s answer and choose Yaa Gyasi’s brilliant first novel Homegoing.  It just blew me away.  I didn’t want to put it down and made me reconsider what I thought I knew about the after effects of slavery that resound to this day.

Recommend an underrated book:   I did a Top Ten Tuesday post about this very topic back in July.  Check it out!

The last book you finished?  Mrs. Malory Investigates by Hazel Holt, the first in the series.  (See?  I told you I read mysteries!)  It was lovely and I have the second one on my bedside book stack.

3867811-_uy200_Used book, yes or no?  I don’t know how a reader could say no to used books.  I like to support authors of color (and hopefully help influence how the industry chooses to publish authors in the future) by buying new hardcovers sometimes, but I take books any way I can get them.

Top three favorite genres?  Mystery, Literary, Speculative.

Weirdest thing you use as a bookmark?  My bookmarks are pretty standard/boring.  I get them free at the library!  🙂

Borrow or buy?  I do both, but most of my reading is borrowed, since I work at the library!

Characters or plot?  Both please!  But I do love a good novel where “nothing happens.”  🙂  I love getting inside characters’ minds and I love books about the foibles and ordinary interactions among families and relationships.

Long or short book?  Short, if I have to choose.  Although I want it on the record that I’ve read Middlemarch TWICE, so I can read long books!  Ha ha!

Long or short chapters?  No preference.

Name the first three books you think of?  Ladder of Years by Anne Tyler, The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood, and Beloved by Toni Morrison.  I loved the first one, and I intend to reread the last two soon, because it’s been FAR too long since I’ve read them and I want them to be fresher in my mind and look at them from an adult perspective.2540302-m

Books that make you laugh or cry?  Right now I probably need some more books that make me laugh!

Our world or fictional worlds?  How about something that resembles our world but is just a little bit off?  I like those kinds of books.

Do you ever judge a book by its cover?  Yes, initially.  But it’s certainly not my only criteria.

Audiobooks?  Yes, but I don’t do them very often.  I only listen to them occasionally in my car because most of my other listening to things time is taken up by a million podcasts!

Book to movie or book to TV?  Movie.  I don’t have a lot of time for TV these days – I’ve about reached my max on what I’ve got time to watch.

A movie or TV adaptation you preferred to the book? Mary Poppins.  The book and film are VERY different. 51jbvwtdx-l-_sx320_bo1204203200_

Series or standalone?  Standalone.

I hope you guys enjoyed this tag.  I like doing these things from time to time and I especially like reading them – it’s fun to see how our individual preferences match or differ.  I’m not going to tag anyone else, but feel free to do this if you like or if you’re stuck on what to write about next!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

19 thoughts on “The Rapid Fire Book Tag

  1. In my experience, people who read the Travers books first prefer them, and people who saw the Disney movie first prefer that. I fell in love with the Travers books when I read them to my daughter, though; she loves the books more because she came to them first.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I had to laugh regarding the bookmarks. I have a large collection of bookmarks and some of them are pretty fancy but I hardly use any of them anymore because I mostly get books from the library and use the paper hold slip that is in the book as a bookmark. My poor neglected collection.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. See, now, I was going to say Book to TV and then I was going to say OF COURSE, but I thought about it some more and realized that I haven’t watched a Book-to-TV adaptation in quite some time. It feels like a huge time commitment in a way that a Book-to-Movie adaptation isn’t.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! We’re usually talking about at least a miniseries, if not an ongoing show (Game of Thrones is what I was thinking of. I’ve not read or watched any of it, and don’t have an interest.) Time commitment for sure.

      Like

  4. Memes are the best for a quick post idea, right? I might have to do this since I’m aways from finishing any books and I want people to visit me – ha!
    Want to know why I prefer hardbacks to paperbacks – and it’s not the weight but the fact that when one ends, it ENDS. No previews and excerpts. Don’t know why that bugs me so much, but it does. I like the finality and elegance of the last page of a book being the true last page. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. One of the reasons I also prefer print books is because I’m constantly on my phone and on a computer at work, so i’d rather not add another screen to my day. I do read ebooks occasionally, but not if I can help it.
    Glad to hear you don’t use weird bookmarks, haha. Even generic or boring ones are better than using mail or random things to mark your place!

    I like how you reminded us that you’ve read Middlemarch twice, haha. It should go on your Twitter bio. 😉

    Loved your answers for this tag, Laila!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

