Top Ten Tuesday: Anticipated 2017 Books

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic (hosted by The Broke and Bookish) required me to do a little research.  It’s the “Top Ten Books I’m Looking Forward to in the First Half of 2017.” I panicked a little.  Initially I could only think of two books coming out in 2017 that I knew about and was looking forward to reading.  Last year I relied on The Millions’ Most Anticipated List to clue me in to what was in store for 2016.  But that list wasn’t published until January 4 of last year.  (Look for the new one in a few weeks!)  I read a lot of backlist titles and tend to know about new books about a month or two in advance, once I start seeing them in magazines, blogs, and BookRiot.  However, with a little digging, I found nine titles that intrigue me.

Her Every Fear by Peter Swanson.  Oh man, did I ever enjoy his previous thriller, The Kind Worth Killing.  It came out around the same time as that book about the Girl and the Train and I thought it was WAY better and deserved some of that book’s press.  So I am *really* excited for this one. (Jan. 10)

51semvp8mrl-_sy344_bo1204203200_Difficult Women by Roxane Gay.  Short stories + Roxane Gay = Laila happy.  (Jan. 3)

Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders.  Yes, it’s about that Lincoln.  From Goodreads:  “Set over the course of that one night and populated by ghosts of the recently passed and the long dead, Lincoln in the Bardo is a thrilling exploration of death, grief, the powers of good and evil, a novel – in its form and voice – completely unlike anything you have read before. It is also, in the end, an exploration of the deeper meaning and possibilities of life, written as only George Saunders can: with humor, pathos, and grace.”  (Feb. 14)

Woman No. 17 by Edan Lepucki.  I really liked her debut novel, California, and this one sounds like a winner.  “A sinister, sexy noir about art, motherhood, and the intensity of female friendships, set in the posh hills above Los Angeles.”  (May 9)

41-fxnlisol-_sx329_bo1204203200_The Leavers by Lisa Ko.  This won the 2016 Bellwether Prize for Socially Engaged Fiction and it sounds terrific.  It “follows one young man’s search for his mother, an undocumented Chinese immigrant who disappears when he’s 11 years old, after which he is adopted by a white family (from Goodreads.)”  (May 2)

The Boy on the Bridge by M.R. Carey.  I tore through The Girl With All The Gifts in a couple of days.  I think this one’s set in the same universe – maybe a prequel?  I’m here for it. (May 2)

American Street by Ibi Zoboi.  YA Haitian immigrant experience in Detroit?  Sounds really good.  Also, the cover is stunning. (Feb. 14)

americanstreet_wblurbThe Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley by Hannah Tinti.    “A father protects his daughter from the legacy of his past and the truth about her mother’s death in this thrilling new novel from the prize-winning author of The Good Thief.”   Plus, I really enjoyed her first novel, The Good Thief.   (March 28)

Magpie Murders by Anthony Horowitz.  FictionFan gushed about this one on her blog, naming it her best crime novel of the year.  (It’s already out in Scotland – lucky!)  That’s all the endorsement I need.  (June 6)

Do any of these tempt your TBR?  Is there a 2017 release that you think I would like that I neglected to put on the list?  Let me know your thoughts in the comments.

22 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Anticipated 2017 Books

  1. Yay for backlist readers!! 😄
    American Street and Difficult Girl are the only two on this list I’m truly interested in. I keep hearing about Lincoln on the Barlo, but there is something about the synopsis which isn’t really connecting with me. Perhaps once I read a few reviews?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ack! I want to add all of these to my list!
    I just saw American Street on another list and added it (partly because of that beautiful cover) – I didn’t realize it as YA. I always feel less guilty about buying new books if my kids can also read them. 🙂
    The Leavers sounds good, and Woman No.17 sounds intriguing… I could go on…
    I also added Magpie Murders after reading FF’s post. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I just skimmed your list and refuse to look at the Millions list. The equivalent of sticking my fingers in my ears while shouting LA LA LA! I CAN”T HEAR YOU at the top of my lungs. I have so many books to get through yet this year I can’t even start to wonder about 2017!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ooh! So pleased to see Magpie Murders on your list, and thanks for the link! 😀 These lists are such a test for my willpower. The ones that appeal most are the Lincoln book, which sounds wonderfully odd, and Her Every Fear – I never got around to reading The Kind Worth Killing, but saw so many glowing reviews of it. Looking forward to hearing what you think of both of these… and the others!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Always happy to direct people to your blog! I understand about willpower. My TBR on Goodreads is under 400 but it’s steadily creeping back up day by day…I’d love to hear what you think about Kind Worth Killing. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I haven’t gotten around to reading his first novel, The Girl With a Clock For a Heart. Someday!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. These look goooooooood. One that I’m looking forward to in 2017 is this book Heretics which is about ART THEFT IN CUBA — I love art theft stories, and this one’s translated from Spanish, which is also great because I want to read more stuff in translation. HUZZAH.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Difficult Women is coming out very soon! That’s excellent. I hope her Hunger memoir gets released in 2017 as well. It’s a bit past due at this point. :/
    I’ve seen American Street on quite a few anticipated lists and I think it’s time I started anticipating it too. It sounds very interesting. On the Goodreads TBR it goes!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

