2017 Reading Goals

Here’s what I want out of my reading life in 2017: MORE MORE MORE.  More time, more focus, more diversity, more discovery, more fun.  That’s not too much to ask, right?

More authors of color – my goal is 35-40% (this year it was 26%.)

More authors in translation.  (Besides Elena Ferrante!)

More LGBTQ authors.  I’ve not yet made this a priority and want to rectify that.

More YA and middle grade books.  Six of each.

I want to read the book The Warmth of Other Suns: The Epic Story of America’s Great Migration by Isabel Wilkerson.  After hearing her speak with Krista Tippett on the On Being podcast a few weeks ago, I knew I had to finally take the plunge and read this highly-acclaimed book.cover_book

I want to read books by and about body-positive people.

I want to make room for the random picks, even if they’re not on my Goodreads TBR. Again, shooting for six random picks.

I want to explore and deepen my spirituality in 2017, so that’s another reading goal.

I want to read more nonfiction in general – more science, more history, more social justice/current events.

I want to reread three books:  Beloved by Toni Morrison, The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster, and The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood.  It’s been far too long since I’ve read any of these.51gbhsui1jl-_sx334_bo1204203200_

Do you think my goals are a bit too ambitious?  I actually don’t think they are.  I am excited to start fresh and tackle my TBR with renewed energy and purpose!

Please offer suggestions if you can think of any titles that fulfill my reading goals.  Tell me some of your own goals for the coming year!

 

30 thoughts on “2017 Reading Goals

  1. I don’t think your goals are too ambitious – I like setting goals because, even if I don’t stick rigidly to them, they do provide a kind of focus that stops me from just reading the same kind of thing all the time. Having just read Gilead, I’d recommend it for your spirituality thing if you haven’t already read it – it’s a lovely examination of faith and humanity and spirituality all mixed together… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A lot of these mirror the goals I’ve been mulling over for my own goals post (coming Sunday or Monday). I definitely want to read more diversely. I may even be tracking all my reading in a spreadsheet to have a better picture of how diversely I’m reading, particularly when it comes to reading own voices works.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. We always want more when it comes to books and reading and I don’t think you can ever be too ambitious! I can’t think of any titles to suggest at the moment but I am sure you reading list will soon be very full. All the best!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love these goals! I can’t wait to see what you read about spirituality. I am not a religious person, but I have such a desire to find something to believe in. It’s been really hard for me. I hope you have a great New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Katie. I agree, I am hungry for spiritual knowledge and connection but don’t consider myself a religious person right now. At times I have been a churchgoer but it’s been years. So I’m seeking! One awesome resource for me so far has been listening to the On Being podcast, hoested by Krista Tippett. It’s immensely rewarding – she talks with guests who are writers, thinkers, poets, people from all walks of life really, about the big questions of being a human being. I’ve been inspired so much just in the couple of months since I’ve started listening. You might give it a shot if you have time for a podcast! Happy New Year to you as well.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I love On Being! I try to listen to it on Sunday morning when it airs, but it usually gets lost in the shuffle. What a great idea to listen to the podcast. What a fabulous show to listen to on my way to work on Monday mornings! I also used to be a churchgoer, but now I don’t even consider myself Christian, so it’s been really hard to find my own path.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I love these goals! I don’t think any goal is too ambitious, honestly. I just know that I personally get a bit stressed out over it if I don’t set checkpoints for my goals, or track them in a measurable way. That’s how I end up where I am now, not completing a few challenges!

    I love that you have generic goals, as well as specific reads. Is reading randomly a challenge for you? I find that’s how I get off track from my goals… Oops!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jackie, I am planning on tracking goals in my paper book journal, where I’ll make little boxes to check off as I read my certain number of books for a category. Blogger reading challenges have been less successful for me in general, and I feel more pressure with them (usually because of time deadlines) so I am limiting my blogging reading challenges this year.

      As far as random reading, what I mean by that is picking things randomly off the shelf, at a library or bookstore. I don’t make room enough in my reading life for that since I have such a huge TBR. I envision these being lighter picks than my usual literary fiction choices. We’ll see!

      Like

      1. Even though I’m usually more inclined towards fiction, I found Wilkerson’s book read like a novel; I just didn’t want to put it down, and read it in very short order. Hope you enjoy it! (Love your goals: great balance between focus and wiggle-room!)

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Did I recommend Yuri Herrera’s (translated) novella Signs Preceding the End of the World to you yet? If not, consider it recommended! As for YA, I have so many recommendations I am speechless. :p As is so often the case, YA is ahead of the curve on publishing books by marginalized authors, so various of these will help with your POC authors and your LGBTQ authors goals ALSO.

    Okay, strap in. Tanita Davis’s Peas and Carrots was one of my favorite books of this year (MG, black author). The Interrogation of Ashala Wolf is a really cool book by an aboriginal author, Ambelin Kwaymullina, who draws on aboriginal mythology in her work. Meg Medina’s Burn, Baby, Burn is a book I’ve heard a ton about by a Latina author, and I am reading a YA magic realism romance by a queer Latina author called When the Moon Was Ours, which is lovely so far (and features a trans boy love interest/secondary protagonist). Timekeeper is a steampunky (I think) adventure book with a queer romance, by a mixed-race queer author, Tara Sim. okay I will stop

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I started reading Beloved last year, but just stopped somehow. I don’t really abandon books, so eventually I’ll come back to it, but somehow it just didn’t hook me in. I also want to read the Phantom Tollbooth! And the Handmaid’s Tale was one of the best books of 2015 for me. Somehow I’m not very big on rereads though 🙂 I used to be, but not since I got on Goodreads years ago.

    My own goals.. This year they are reading 100 books in general, along with several challenges. One of them is the Blogger Shame challenge, where you set a goal of forgotten ARCs you’re going to read. I have tens of them lying around, so I need to get to them, and even though it’s only the 2nd of January, I’ve already finished one 🙂 another one I’m doing is called the Mounth TBR challenge, where you choose a number of books of your owned copies and read them, and each number has a different mountain name (I’m reading 36, which lands me with Mt Vancoucer 🙂 it’s a really fun idea). And then I think I’ll be participating in a few more challenges as well, like a week-long one I’m doing now, Bout of Books. I was also thinking of the Modern Mrs Darcy challenge for Growth 🙂 this one: http://modernmrsdarcy.com/reading-challenge-2017/

    Liked by 1 person

  8. The good thing about goals is not whether you are able to achieve them, but that they inspire and motivate. And these ones sounds very inspiring and motivating. Maybe I just need to copy and paste yours. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. All the best in meeting all these goals. I think I will borrow the one on POC. LGBTQ is a whole new genre for me so perhaps I will read more of this. Beloved is an amazing book. It was one of the most challenging books that I read last year but I liked it. Happy 2017.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I think that I can help you achieve two of your goals! My blog is centered around classics and nonfiction about successful people and ideas. I believe that knocks off both your goal to read nonfiction, and your goal to read books written by/about positive people.
    I post 2 book reviews each week. Please stop by my page at thewrightread.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

