Top Ten 2016 Books I Meant to Get to Last Year

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic, hosted by The Broke and Bookish, is Top Ten Books from 2016 I Wanted to Read But Haven’t Yet.  There is only so much time in the day, what with having to work, converse with one’s husband and child, and binge-watch Supernatural – or whatever your priorities might happen to be.  I totally intend to read these ten books. Sometime.  You get it, right? 51tusm5ixll-_sx331_bo1204203200_

Modern Lovers by Emma Straub

Today Will Be Different by Maria Semple

The Fire This Time: A New Generation Speaks About Race edited by Jesmyn Ward

9781594206856_custom-fe4eae454a97795906f50c3ff61245f8a47f095e-s300-c85The Portable Veblen by Elizabeth McKenzie

Another Brooklyn by Jacqueline Woodson

Commonwealth by Ann Patchett

Behold the Dreamers by Imbolo Mbue

Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel

Here Comes the Sun by Nicole Y. Dennis-Bennows_146853560754311

Swing Time by Zadie Smith

I could probably have chosen ten different books for this list, but these were the ones that leaped out at me as I perused my massive Goodreads list. Maybe you’ve read some of these?  Let me know what you think of them.  What shows were you binge-watching in 2016 instead of reading books? Is there one book from 2016 you wish you’d gotten to last year?

 

 

 

 

 

 

34 thoughts on “Top Ten 2016 Books I Meant to Get to Last Year

  1. SO many books but not enough time.I totally get you. Behold the Dreamers was also on my list for last year. I hope that I will read it this year. In 2016, I binge-watched all new seasons of Survivor, The Night Of and Stranger Things. Your mention of Supernatural has reminded me that its been quite a while since I watched the show. Do they have new seasons?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Portable Veblen is a fun book, but read it when you’re in the mood for quirky and charming. Like quirky people, Veblen can rub a reader the wrong way if she’s feeling irritable.
    I’m re-watching Supernatural with a friend who is on season 9. I think it was season 8 when I started having to watch it “live” which is something I hardly ever do with tv. On Jan. 26 they’re continuing with season 12, and were just renewed for a 13th season.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the Veblen tip!

      As for Supernatural, it’s so funny how I came to it. I started watching it at the GYM of all places, while I was on the machines. With the closed captioning. So of course I was skipping around all the seasons, and I’ve seen bits and pieces here and there. Now I have Netflix and am finally watching them in order – and I’ve been DVRing this season’s episodes, so they’re waiting for me! I can’t believe how long this show has been on! But I love it.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I really liked The Portable Veblen (although Jeanne’s comment about how it might annoy people is spot on). The mother character is delightfully irritating.
    I want to read Behold the Dreamers and Here Comes the Sun too. They are on one of my many Amazon wishlists.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Like you, the titles for a post like this one would probably be different for me from day to day; there are always so many books that we don’t get to but fully intend to, aren’t there? The only one on your list which I’ve actually read is Swing Time, which is really interesting, not exactly an easy read but a rewarding one all the same. As for binge-watching (my biggest distraction from reading, too, along with playing games), I watched “Stranger Things”, “House of Cards”, “The Mindy Project”, “Happy Valley”, “Luther” and, and, and… *sigh* (And I wondered what “Happened” to my daily yoga practice. *shakes head*)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha ha, I understand! I only recently got Netflix and I have Stranger Things and Luther on my Netflix list. And I watch a show that’s starting its second season this week called “Colony” on USA and while I’m thrilled to see it come back, I lament the lost reading time! Oh well, I think we manage to do all right with books despite living in this golden age of television! 🙂

      Like

      1. The image for that one caught my eye in an app I’ve just started to use to log my viewing (which is dibolical for the “recommended viewing” which is attached to each show); I’m glad and sorry to hear that you enjoy it so much. *grins*

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Eek! I don’t even want to think about how many books I didn’t get to last year! I am always thinking about what I didn’t get to, ha! But the shows that I binge watched in 2016 were: The OA, The Crown, Madame Secretary, and How To Get Away With Murder.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Commonwealth and Behold the Dreamers are both high on my list. But, yes, I think I could do a top 50 on this topic, or even more! Sigh. However, there are other rewarding aspects of life, aren’t there?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I love that Swing Time is the only book which overlaps on our lists– but I agree, I also could have chosen 10 completely different books. So many books were published in 2016 which I want to read. I hope to make a dent in that list this year, but I know that means I might end up with a huge 2017 backlist. Oops.

    Great list– I look forward to reading your reviews when they come up!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I loved Another Brooklyn and Commonwealth! I was hoping to get to Portable Veblen too. I missed doing this TTT. I may have to cheat and do it next week, since I don’t read much romance & that’s what’s coming up!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

