It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by The Book Date.

its-monday-what-are-you-readingHi, bookish friends!  I hope you had a good weekend.  Mine was excellent.  It included a dinner date with an old friend, stomping around in the neighborhood park on a beautiful day with my son and husband, and going to see The Lego Batman Movie, which was really fun!

Recently finished:  Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders.  WOW.  I was just floored by this book.  I’ve been trying to come up with words to review it for days now.  For now I’ll just say that Colson Whitehead’s The Underground Railroad finally has company as one of my five-star reads in 2017. Review to come.

12-19-08-colwin4Currently Reading:  Home Cooking: A Writer in the Kitchen by Laurie Colwin. I think I heard about this on Anne Bogel’s What Should I Read Next? podcast. It’s essays about food and cooking, originally published in Gourmet magazine. Sadly, she passed away in 1992 at the young age of 48, after having also written many novels and short story collections, which are still in print. Apparently she’s become a venerated cult figure among foodies and food bloggers.  I’m enjoying this book of essays, despite not being much of a cook myself.  It’s very conversational in tone, and I like it, but I find it quite easy to put down after each essay. Hence, it’s going slowly.

I’m also reading Hamilton: The Revolution by Lin-Manuel Miranda and Jeremy McCarter. I’ve had this on hold for months and it finally came in.  I only became a Hamilton fan in the fall, when I saw the Great Performances episode about it on PBS.  So basically a lot later than the rest of the world.  Anyway, this is a must-read for a fan of the musical.  It’s annotated lyrics of the songs, with all the hip-hop references that someone not well-versed might miss, as well as behind the scenes pieces on the show’s creation and actors.

7493Since becoming a Hamilton fan, I’ve been wanting to know more about America’s Founding Fathers (I know, I feel like such a cliché.)  So I just checked out Founding Brothers by Joseph Ellis from my library on Overdrive.  I’m not very far into it yet.  The first chapter is on Burr and Hamilton and their duel.

Looking Ahead:  Reading for Reading Ireland Month, hosted by Cathy at 746 Books!  I’m going to read The Visitor by Maeve Brennan and All We Shall Know by Donal Ryan.

Have you read any of these titles?  Do any of them interest you? Are you participating in Reading Ireland Month?  What are you reading right now?  Let me know in the comments.

 

 

18 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

  1. I’m reading a random book called The Tourist by Robert Dickinson. Its for my CBC gig, so not my first choice of reading material but should be interesting 🙂

    Sounds like you’ve got lots of fun books on the go right now!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am so excited that you loved Lincoln in the Bardo so much. I can’t wait to get to it!! And I have the Hamilton soundtrack, which I love, but I’d also like to read the version that you linked. And I know what you mean about wanting to learn more about the founding fathers – I hope you enjoy reading that one! I’ll look forward to hearing what you think about it… I’m always worried about picking up nonfiction because I think it will be too dry.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Stefanie, I just looked up the audiobook and holy smokes! Nick Offerman, Megan Mullally, Ben Stiller, Don Cheadle!! The list goes on. I’m going to have to listen to it now for sure. George Saunders apparently narrates one of the main characters. Awesome!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. There has been a lot of love for Lincoln in the Bardo lately! I own Tenth of December, but haven’t read it yet, so I feel like I should read it first. But, you never know…
    Good choices for Reading Ireland month! From what I’ve seen, both authors seem to be popular choices this year. I’m hoping to read The Spinning Heart by Donal Ryan and one other (undecided) if I get the chance!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m glad you ended up loving Hamilton! There’s no such thing as late to the party of any musical — once you’re in you’re in, and I feel like musicals fans are always thrilled to welcome new musicals fans. I am anyway! Musicals are the best!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jenny, thanks! I’ve not been a musical fan in general, but I think it’s more because I haven’t really tried them, not because i’ve tried them and found them wanting. So I think I need to try and educate myself – are there musicals you would recommend?

      Like

Leave a Reply

