Top Ten Tuesday: My Spring TBR

Hey there!  It’s Top Ten Tuesday Time again, hosted by The Broke and Bookish – they’ve been on hiatus and I haven’t participated in one for a while.  But I do so love talking about TBRs – my own and yours as well!  It’s so much fun to anticipate the things we *might* read soon.  I am not a book planner, but I know some of you follow a pretty strict schedule. I’m very moody when it comes to reading, so I may get to these this Spring – or I may not!  I intend to read them sometime, in any case, so this list is partly based on what my library holds look like, and partly random.

All We Shall Know by Donal Ryan.  I WILL read this very soon, as it’s one of my choices for 746 Books’s Reading Ireland Month.  So I plan on taking it with me to the beach next week!

Kissing the Gunner’s Daughter by Ruth Rendell.  It’s been too long since I’ve read an Inspector Wexford mystery and this is the next one on the list (I’m working my way in order, very slowly.)

51Ma6eymR0L._SX330_BO1,204,203,200_Exit West by Mohsin Hamid.  This one just sounds too good, and I’m high on my library’s hold list for it.

The Book of Unknown Americans by Cristina Henriquez.  I’m going to suggest this as one of our book group’s choices when it’s my turn to host next month – I hope they choose it!

Hillbilly Elegy by J.D. Vance.  I have to admit, I’m not super excited to read this, but I want to at least give it a try, since it’s such a big book for our moment in time.  If any of you guys have read it, please let me know what you think.

The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl by Issa Rae.  I bought this on Kindle for $1.99 recently and it looks funny and sharp.

Whatever Happened to Interracial Love by Kathleen Collins.  Another recent super cheap Kindle find.  Short stories written by an African American woman in the 1960’s only just now published.165208

Difficult Women by Roxane Gay.  Love Roxane Gay.  More short stories.

Woman No. 17 by Edan Lepucki.  “A sinister, sexy noir about art, motherhood, and the intensity of female friendships” according to Goodreads.  I liked her first novel, California.

Happy All The Time by Laurie Colwin.  Romance and comedy of manners.

Have you read any of these?  Do you plan to?  Do you plan out your reading by month or season, or do you fly by the seat of your pants?  (And what’s up with that saying anyway?  That’s a weird one.)  What’s on your Spring TBR?

 

 

36 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: My Spring TBR

  1. Your list is so great! I’m on my library’s waitlist for Difficult Women – can’t wait to get to it. I love the diversity of your picks – thanks for sharing them with us!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think my choice would be the Ruth Rendell. I’ve only read a couple of her books and didn’t love them as much as I feel I should have, and suspect I’d grow to love them if I read more and got to know the characters better…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Did you read from the Wexford series or her non-series books? If you’ve never read The Crocodile Bird, it’s my very favorite of her books, and it’s non-series. Dark, psychological, intricate plotting – I loved it! I think her non-series books are more psychological thrillers than straight-up mysteries.

      Like

      1. Only the Wexford ones, and only a couple of them so I don’t think I’ve given her a fair trial. I think my view was affected by the old TV series – I didn’t really like either of the main performances in it, especially Burden who was always totally miserable looking! I’ll maybe try The Crocodile Bird instead – thanks for the recommendation! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Sounds like an exciting Spring! I’ve read Hillbilly Elegy and while I thought it was interesting, I thought it was a little overrated. It was very much marketed as a cultural study, but it is really just a memoir. That said though, I know quite a few people who enjoyed it!

    Also, I just thought I would let you know that I have nominated your blog for the Liebster award. You can find all the details here: https://thetsundokist.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I haven’t read a single one of those! I really don’t plan my reading seasonally — I’ve tried to in the past, but I nearly always end up rebelling against my own plan (with great resentment). So pretty much, I end up reading whatever I happen to have grabbed at my most recent few library trips. Lots of good stuff right now!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Yes! Roxanne Gay! I can’t wait to read Difficult Women, as well. I have been really into essay collections lately.

    I won a copy of Hillbilly Elegy this winter. I haven’t read it yet, but that’s because my friends keep borrowing it from me before I have had a chance to read it! Everyone has had amazing things to say about it– that it’s well written, clear, poignant, and helped them view the world a bit differently. I hope that we both enjoy it when we get there.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The only one I’ve read is The Book of Unknown Americans. It would make a good one for a bookgroup. (The thing I want to say must wait until you’ve read it!) I don’t really plan seasonally, but I kinda have a feeling of what’s getting closer (like your library hold list, although I’ve been reducing those lately, to make a dent in some backlisted reading) and projects that I feel are getting cool (like your Wexford one) that need a bit of attention. Right now, I’m nearly finished a reread of Maya Angelou’s first autobio and I’m looking forward to reading on in the series (I already reread it once and then didn’t continue – for no good reason, just too many projects), so I’m looking forward to that over the next few weeks. Have you read her? (Speaking of writers who might be described as “humane”, as we were, some weeks ago.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yes, Angelou is a treasure! I’ve read three of her memoirs – out of sequence for some reason – so I have a few yet to enjoy!

      I have The Book of Unknown Americans sitting on my desk at work – even if they don’t choose it I will read it soon! And then we can talk about it. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  7. We have 2 overlapping books on this list. I also had Hillbilly Elegy and Woman No. 17. There are so many others on here I would love to read too – too many to name each. Great taste!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

