The Liebster Award, Or Me Talking About Myself

So I’ve been nominated by Anna from The Tsundokist for the Liebster Award, which is a fun blogging honor/meme that I’ve seen pop up from time to time on other blogs.  You should check out Anna’s blog – I very much enjoy reading her reviews!  Thank you, Anna!

liebster2The Rules: 

  1. Thank the person who nominated you.
  2. Answer the 11 questions they’ve written for you.
  3. Nominate 11 other people (preferably those with under 200 followers)
  4. Give your nominees 11 different questions to answer.

The Questions:

1.Do you read one book at a time or multiple?

I read multiple books at a time – I usually have a fiction and a nonfiction going at any given time, and sometimes will throw audio books or another fiction in the mix.  I tried the one book at a time thing and it just didn’t work for me!

6147RXZYV3L._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_2. Favorite Childhood Book?

I particularly loved Grover and the Everything in the Whole Wide World Museum.

3.  Which author do you think is totally overrated and why?

I hate to say mean things about authors…  I will just say that I do not see the appeal of the Stephanie Plum books by Janet Evanovich, having read the first one.  Not my thing.

4.  What was the last book you read that made you laugh a lot?

I’ve been rereading Lois Lowry’s Anastasia Krupnik series lately (a favorite from childhood) and they are laugh out loud funny.anastasiaagainloislowry

5.  What was the last book that made you cry?

Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders.

6.  Are you a fast or slow reader?

Medium.  (Seriously, I don’t know how to judge these things.  I’m no speed reader, I know that.)

7.  Name a book you DNF’ed recently.

My most recent DNF was More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera.  I intend to try it again, though.  I just wasn’t in the mood.

8.  What is your go-to genre for long-haul flights?

I don’t fly very often or very well, but I MUST have two things for reading materials:  Gossip magazines, and an Anne Tyler novel.  It’s a weird superstition of mine.

sense-and-sensibility-bicentenary-edition-penguin-classics-2012-x-2009. What is the most recent classic you read and what did you think of it?

Right now I’m listening to Jane Austen’s Sense and Sensibility on CD and it’s MARVELOUS.  I’ve read it twice before and it’s one of my favorite books anyway.  But this version, read by actress Juliet Stevenson, is really well done!

10.  What is next on your TBR?

I’ll be reading Donal Ryan’s All We Shall Know for Reading Ireland Month.

11.  Do you have a favorite bookshop?  Why is it your favorite?

I have a particular fondness for Malaprop’s in Asheville, North Carolina.  My husband and I go there whenever we’re in Asheville.  It’s just marvelously quirky.

So that’s it.  This was great fun!  I think many of you have already done this meme before, so I’ll just nominate five bloggers who I think may not have participated and who I enjoy reading:

Valancy @ Blue Castle Considerations

Jackie @ Death By Tsundoku 

Katie @ KatieGilley

Sarah @ Reviews and Read-a-thons

Marie @ Book Chatter

Questions for Them to Answer:

  1. Name a book that’s been on your TBR for more than three years.
  2. If you had time to grab one book from your shelf before fleeing your home (and your family is safe) what would you choose?
  3. What’s the most recent book you gave someone as a gift?
  4. If you could have coffee with any writer, living or dead, who would you choose?
  5. What time of day do you do most of your reading?
  6. What do you do to get out of a reading slump?
  7. Do you have a favorite bookmark?  If so, describe it.
  8. Do your IRL friends read your blog?
  9. Name one of your favorite “comfort reads.”
  10. Name a bookstore you’d like to visit.
  11. Name your favorite book-to-movie adaptation.

Thanks again, Anna.  This was great fun!  For anyone else who may or may not have done this book tag before, feel free to answer any of these questions in the comments below. I’d love to hear your picks.

 

 

 

37 thoughts on “The Liebster Award, Or Me Talking About Myself

  1. Love your reading items for flights! That is an interesting question, too. I’d love to hear more people’s answers. I like a chunky page-turner for long-haul flights. One time I read A Suitable Boy (hardback, no less) to and from Japan. Thank goodness for ebook readers!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations! By the way, books read by Juliet Stevenson are the best. My other half listed to her reading Jane Eyre, and said, “I wish Juliet Stevenson would read Supreme Court opinions to me.” She could make anything sound good.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for the tag! I agree with soooo many of these answers! Obviously, you know I agree about the Stephanie Plum series. But the multiple books at a time: Yes, yes, yes. I typically have one physical novel, one eBook, and one audiobook all happening at once. Sometimes, if I’m feeling REALLY crazy, I’ll add in a graphic novel. I just have a bit of ADD for books, I guess. 🙂

    I’ve never read anything by Anne Tyler. Where would you recommend I start? 😉

    Lastly: Another tsundokist! Oh, absolutely brilliant. I have to follow Anna if only because of our naming convention. Thanks for the introduction.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I really enjoyed reading your answers! I’ve never actually read any Anne Tyler books, but I need to catch a flight soon, so that might be a good time to start. Do you have a favourite? Oh, and I adored the Grover books when I was little (so much so that I used to run around the house reading them out loud to anyone who would listen).

    Ooh, that’s such a cute and quirky name for a bookstore – I love it! I have some family that recently moved out to North Carolina, so I might just have to go visit them at some point and pass by Asheville on the way. I always love discovering new bookshops around the world. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Did you know that there is a small connection between all of her books? I just learned this from an interview (after Spool of Blue Thread came out, I think it was on CBC’s “Writers and Company” with Eleanor Wachtel) and immediately I wanted to go back and read the few I’ve read and then read along.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Laila – thanks so much for nominating me!! You’re the sweetest.

    And I loved your answers. I’ve never gotten into the Stephanie Plum books either – I read the first one and felt like it just wasn’t for me. And I’ve never read Anne Tyler either – she needs to be added to my TBR ASAP!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ooh, I’ve had my eye on these Juliet Stevenson Austen recordings, so it’s good to hear you’re enjoying it so much! So many great actors doing narration these days – we’re spoiled! Congrats on the award – well deserved! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, FF. I can’t even begin to tell you how much I’ve enjoyed her reading Sense and Sensibility. Her Miss Steele voice is truly perfect, so snotty and awful, and her Mrs. Palmer is right on the money too. I must see what other books we have read by her at my library!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Thanks so much for the nomination – I’m going to love answering the questions you thought up!

    And I LOVED the Anastasia Krupnik series when I was young – she was so self directed and interesting, and all the things I wanted to be — but I don’t remember them as being SO funny. When I did a re-read a while back; some of those books have such hilarious scenes and humourous writing, which went straight over my head when I was little….
    I am definitely due for another re-read!
    🙂

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Is there a fan club: can I join, please? My favourite parts are her lists. I just love them, and was shocked to find, on rereading (and reading onwards, either last summer or the summer before) just how much fun they are…still.

        Liked by 1 person

  8. I love Grover, but that’s one of his books that I haven’t read. And, yes, even now, I’m thinking of looking to see if our library has it. I’ll just tell the kids it’s research. 🙂
    Anastasia’s awesome, too!
    You guys are making me want to listen to Juliet Stevenson read Jane Austen novels! I’ll have to try to remember that for our long summer drives.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Congrats on the award. I enjoyed reading your answers. I am currently reading two books at the same time. One is a Monster Calls by Patrick Ness and the other one is Lioness of Morocco. Two very different books and settings but interesting so far. I will try the fiction-non-fiction sometime.

    Sadly, I am yet to read any of Jane Austen’s books. I hope to rectify that someday. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Congrats on your award! I’m glad to hear that More Happy than Not is a DNF for you. I keep seeing all the 5 stars including the author’s new book. I wish I see your post before I visited Asheville! I’m missing out on that bookstore! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

