It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a weekly bookish meme hosted by The Book Date.

Hi guys!  Things have been quiet around here lately, but I have a good excuse – I went on a trip with my family (hubby’s parents and brother included) last week.  I read only about 30 pages in total last week, and am just now getting back into the swing of reading.  I’m waaaaaayyyyy behind on reading blogs, so I hope to catch up a bit over the next few days!

IMG_1220We went to Folly Beach, SC, which is pretty much my happy place.  It’s about 15 minutes from downtown Charleston, and it’s just the most laid-back little beach town.  My husband and I just like to be on the beach, play with our son, dig holes in the sand, walk around, look for shells.  We don’t need to be doing stuff all the time.  I mean, I like to see things, but mainly I just want to be by the ocean and feel the sunshine on my skin and hear the waves crashing against the shore, you know?  Oh, and we also like to EAT.  So that’s pretty much what we did.  There are some really delicious little restaurants on Folly, so you don’t have to venture far.  It was a little cooler than we’d like, with highs in the 60’s, but we had plenty of sunshine!  It was a great trip.

IMG_1267So now it’s Monday, I’m back to work, and my son is back to school, and we’re all back to reality.  Which isn’t so bad!  I’m still listening to Sense and Sensibility now that I’m driving to work again and have wrestled control of my car stereo back from my son, who apparently can ONLY listen to the Hamilton Soundtrack these days.  (I love the Hamilton Soundtrack, but I have listened to “My Shot” about 18,000 times!)  I’m just to the point in the book where Marianne is heartbroken and Colonel Brandon has come to tell Elinor about the horrible things that Willoughby has done to his young ward.  It’s making me want to watch the stellar film adaptation with Emma Thompson, Kate Winslet, and the wonderful Alan Rickman again.  Sigh.

I’m also halfway through All We Shall Know by the Irish writer Donal Ryan.  I don’t quite know what to say about this novel.  It’s really… depressing.  Bleak. The writing is beautiful, truly, but…  I can’t say that I’m enjoying it.  I was planning to read it and review it for Reading Ireland Month but March ends Friday, so I *hope* to have it done by then.  Mixed feelings for sure on this one.IMG_1268

Here’s a question for you:  What’s the last depressing book you abandoned, or finished?

What are YOU reading this Monday? Let me know in the comments.

 

 

26 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Ah, a seaside break sounds wonderful! Still too cold here though – I’d have to wear Arctic explorer gear! Sadly, the last book I abandoned for being depressing was Hannah Kent’s The Good People, which nearly everybody else loved! But generally I abandon books for being dull – depressing I can cope with, but boring I can’t!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love the pics and I love the beach, even in the winter. I’ll be spending some time walking along the shore of Lake Ontario tomorrow morning, in fact!

    Not so much depressing, because they are both inspiring in their way, but still there is a lot of sadness in them: my reread of Maya Angelou’s I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings and Louise Erdrich’s Four Souls. Also in my stack for yesterday/Monday? Kate O’Brien’s Without My Cloak, which seems like the kind of epic Irish tale my grandmother would’ve loved (but it’s not exactly my kind of story).

    Hope you’ve got a good week ahead of you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The beach is wonderful any time of year!

      I’ve never read Erdrich before, which is kind of embarrassing to admit. I think I’ve shied away from her because I thought she might be too heavy. I think I need to try one and get over it.

      I’ve not heard of Without My Cloak. I’ll have to look that up!

      You have a good week too!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for sharing the wonderful pics. Looks like you guys had so much fun on the trip.

    I like emotional reads so I have never abandoned a book because of being depressing. The last one that broke my heart was When We Danced at the end of the pier by Sandy Taylor. It is such a wonderful read though.

    Enjoy all your books this week and have a wonderful week.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for reading, Diana. We did have a very good time.

      When I was younger I was more able to handle sad reads, but as I’ve gotten older I’m less and less so! Sometimes, though, a sad book is worth it. 🙂

      You have a great week too!

      Like

  4. I’m so glad you had a great vacation! Time away from the grind of the world is so important. It makes me happy to see your prioritizing family.

    Hm. I am currently reading The Kite Runner, and I’m just not into it. I’m considering DNF’ing because it’s depressing and I’m not in the mood. Same with 1984, but I think that’s because it’s just too real. I just… I can’t.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mood reader here too! I haven’t even tried The Kite Runner because I suspected it might be more than I could handle. Maybe I’m missing out, but then again, there are SO MANY OTHER books out there. Maybe it’s just not the right time for you to read it – who knows?

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I love seeing the pictures of you having such a nice time! I love the beach when it’s not too hot. And, it’s true – the beaches here are beautiful, and many of them are completely empty. 🙂

    I’m also reading Donal Ryan (The Spinning Heart and A Slanting of the Sun), and yes, they’re bleak, but I love bleak as long as the writing is good!

    Like

      1. Book deal breakers? Hmm.. cliched and predictable are number one and two. Followed closely by a plot that goes nowhere and has no redeeming features like good character development, interesting style, etc. Also, pointless violence and/or glorification of violence, and books that are filled with misogyny above and beyond the casual or ignorant sort.

        Glad the book turned out to be good! Looking forward to hearing more about it!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Beach beach beach! That sounds wonderful! And I absolutely know what you mean about how nice it is to just be near the ocean. It’s entrancing and lovely — I always think of that Robert Frost poem “Neither Out Far Nor In Deep,” which is a very accurate depiction of me. :p

    Liked by 1 person

    1. For some reason, Jenny, it’s making me approve your comments every time you comment! What’s up with that?

      I don’t know that poem, I need to look it up! I basically go about thigh high in the ocean and that’s it!

      Like

  7. Well it’s now Saturday (lol) and I am reading a few books to get ready for the Ohioana book festival next weekend. I am trying to read 3 books this week, so wish me luck!

    Your vacation looks like it was filled with some wonderful family time! Getting back to reality is always tough 😦

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

