It’s Monday (and April!) What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a weekly bookish meme hosted by The Book Date.

Hi friends!  Another week, another month!  It’s April already?!?

My book group met at my house yesterday.  We discussed Celeste Ng’s Everything I Never Told You.  Celeste_Ng_-_Everything_I_Never_Told_YouI haven’t reviewed this book here, but I did like it.  Like it, not love.  It moved me a great deal.  I mean, I was utterly sobbing during the last third of the book. But during the first two-thirds, I felt at a distance from the characters, like their emotions and actions weren’t ringing true for me.  It certainly provided a LOT to discuss.  We talked about gender roles and expectations in the 1970’s (the time period for the book;) how hard parenting is; how hard honestly relating to any loved one is; how parents and children communicate differently now vs. the 1970’s; how we felt sorry for and loved the character of Hannah.  It makes a very good book group book.  In a rarity for us, all of us who came (six ladies) read it!  Usually there’s one member who doesn’t.  Anyway, we enjoyed lots of good food and conversation!

Recently Finished:

Kissing the Gunner’s Daughter (Inspector Wexford #15) by Ruth Rendell.  (library hardback) A satisfying British mystery from one of my favorite series.

Currently Reading:

51JqQOlLTjL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_Talking As Fast As I Can:  From Gilmore Girls to Gilmore Girls And Everything in Between by Lauren Graham.  (downloadable audiobook)  I had to put listening to Sense and Sensibility on pause because my hold on this book finally became available.  I am LOVING THIS.  She is so down to earth and sensible for a famous person. And funny, as you might expect.

John Crow’s Devil by Marlon James.  (owned paperback)  40 pages in and DAMN this thing is intense.  Which I probably should have expected as the first novel of the author of The Book of Night Women and A Brief History of Seven Killings.  512--x+XDfL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Currently Pondering:

This article from Book Riot.  The author whittled down her TBR by reading two books before she let herself buy another one.  I like this method.  My problem is my ratio of library books to ones I own.  I will let those library holds keep coming through and push out books that have been on my bookshelf for ages.  So I’m contemplating trying an experiment by reading two books I own for every library book I read.  I don’t know if I’ll be able to do this and keep managing my holds well, but I think I’m going to try it!  Anyone else intrigued by this system?

Tell me, what are you reading this week?

 

 

 

21 thoughts on “It’s Monday (and April!) What Are You Reading?

  1. I liked Celeste Ng’s book too, although it was last year that I read it, so I can’t remember anything else about it 🙂

    Currently Reading: Every Man a Menace by Patrick Hoffman-it’s about the drug trade, very fast paced!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It sounds like you had a great review meeting and the book does sound interesting. I like what is said in the article that you shared. I will be honest and admit that I can’t remember the last book that I read from my own bookshelf yet I can’t stop buying new books. I have been swamped by ARCs this year but maybe I will be able to give this method a try later on in the year. Two of my own books before ARCs or something from the library. Great tip,

    Have a wonderful week.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I didn’t know there was sobbing to be expected in the Ng novel; I’ve got it on my TBR and will approach with caution! Are you reading the Wexfords in order, or just working towards reading them all in general? I’m rereading the Sue Grafton alphabet series and I have to read them in order and have been stuck on D for ages. (Not really comparing Grafton and Rendell, just the length of the series and their dedication to a single character.)

    The whole ratio thing is how I’ve been shifting some reading habits, working by %s rather than by specifics. I’m in the third year now and my habits have definitely shifted but I didn’t expect it would take this long. Also, I haven’t anticipated some hiccups, like using my library’s wishlist system to divert some of those “must-have-new-book” library holds (which, it turns out, is a list with an expiry date, so it was another way of creating bursts of “new” arrivals, just that they are no longer new -fixing that now). Simply prohibiting things as a way of shifting the balance only ever worked for a short time, but playing with the ratio and simply aiming to improve not eliminate works for me!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ahh, I do the same thing. I’ve got over twenty books out from the library at the moment and haven’t touched my own books in weeks. Terrible! I feel like my TBR will never shrink. I think I’m going to try to get through all of my library books and then not buy/borrow anything until I’ve finished the unread books on my shelf.

    On another note, I’m reading Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier and it is so much fun! It’s like a gothic soap opera in the best way. Happy reading and have a lovely week. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh wow, as someone who works in a library, I have to say that I can’t condone your not borrowing anything from the library! ha ha! But I get what you mean about the unshrinking TBR. Mine has jumped ridiculously the past couple of weeks. I just keep hearing about more new books!

      I intend to FINALLY read Rebecca in October for the RIP Challenge. I don’t know why I haven’t read it before now. Glad you’re enjoying it!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m picking up Middlemarch again this week. I didn’t get a section read in March, so I’ve got two to read this month. I’ve also got Sweet Caress by William Boyd loaded on my Kindle app for on-the-go reading.

    I like your new idea for whittling down the personal TBR–two owned books read, then a borrowed one. Try it for 3 months! Challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sounds like you had a really enjoyable book group discussion! I have the same trouble as you with library books and books I own. I joke that if I want to never read a book, I buy it. Sometimes I think if I want to read the books I own i should start requesting them from the library because they’d have a better chance of actually making it in front of my eyes!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Great list of books! Does Lauren Graham read her own memoir? And if so, does she read it super fast? 😉 I really struggled when I started watching Gilmore Girls with following along– they all talk so quickly!

    I love the TBR idea. Like you, I use the library a lot. I tried to restrict my reservations, but that rarely worked. Oops. I look forward to following your journey and hearing updates. Perhaps you have a tip or trick you’ll pick up which you can share. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lauren Graham *does* read her own memoir, and it’s really fun! Not too fast! 😉 If you’re a fan of the show, this is a fun, light listen. If I end up making a real go of this library/own books idea, I’ll be sure to write about it! So far I’ve been stuck on this one certain book for over a week now – one of my own!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

