BRL Quarterly Report #7

Hi guys!  Now that it’s nearly mid-April, it’s time to do my first Quarterly Report of 2017!    Big Reading Life Quarterly Report (1)

Here’s the breakdown of my reading in the first quarter of the year:

Books Read: 23

Fiction: 18

Nonfiction: 5

Audio: 0

Juvenile/Middle Grade: 328250841

YA/Teen: 1

Graphic Novels: 1

Authors of Color: 6

Published in 2017: 2

Favorites This Quarter:  The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead (my review here,) Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders (my review here,) and Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera (my review here.)

So how am I doing on my 2017 Reading Goals?  I’ve read NO authors in translation, NO books about body positivity/acceptance, only one work so far by a LGBTQ author, only one YA title (Lumberjanes Vol. 2, which is my only graphic novel or comic thus far,) and only one work with a spirituality focus. My reading has been all over the place, heavily on the fiction side.  So I’m not making a lot of progress so far on my goals, but that’s okay! On the plus side, I’ve only had one 2-star read (Peter Swanson’s Her Every Fear,) with everything else a 3 or better.  I participated for the second time in Reading Ireland Month, which is always a fulfilling reading experience.  I read my first Miss Marple mystery and my second ever romance novel!  I’m happy with my reading pace – for the first time ever I’m seriously considering trying to reach for 100 books in a year! I’ve still got plenty of time to make a serious dent in my reading goals.  And even if I don’t, I know my reading will take me to so many entertaining, satisfying, enlightening places!

How are you doing with your own reading goals?  Are you surprised at what you’ve read or not read so far in 2017?

PS… Shameless plug!  I have the honor this week of being Cathy’s featured blogger on her terrific feature The Books That Built The Blogger!  Check out my post here, and please DO follow her fab blog, 746 Books!

 

27 thoughts on “BRL Quarterly Report #7

  1. Sounds like your year is off to a good start! I definitely need to read ‘The Underground Railroad’ – I’ve been hearing so much about it and I just read that it won the Pulitzer. I’m reading ‘Lincoln in the Bardo’ (largely thanks to your recommendation) and am really loving it at the moment – it’s so bizarre and sad and wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on your goals! Great accomplishments and still time to check off all those lists.
    My reading count is high (26 so far) but I expect I can’t maintain the pace. Sometimes I think I should set page goals instead!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Those are great statistics. I wanted to read more of non fiction this year (last year’s resolution) but I havent gotten around to doing that. You have made me very curious about Lincoln in Bardo. And Underground railroad? I so want to read it. Looks like it deserved the Pulitzer

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I think you’re doing pretty well with your goals! It’s always better to look at what you *have* read rather than what you *haven’t* Not quite as discouraging! And you’ve read some great books so far this year! I just might have to get to that Whitehead book now that it’s also won the Pulitzer. Not too shabby. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The Underground Railroad was one of my favorite reads of 2016! I was so happy to see that he won the Pulitzer Prize!

    Juliette Takes a Breath has been on my TBR since it came out last year! I really need to go and pick a copy up already.

    Good luck with all of your reading challenges! I am currently on pace to meet mine. I set my goal to 90 books and I think I’m currently at 36. Another goal was to read more diversely & to help promote more diversity in children’s books. So far, so good 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s awesome that you’re on pace with your goals! I think part of the problem with mine is that I set too many. Next year, I’ll scale back!

      I was very happy to hear about Colson Whitehead’s Pulitzer as well! Well deserved!

      I hope you get to Juliet soon – it was such a refreshing, unique read.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. A good first quarter! Aiming for 100 books in a year? that’s huge! Good luck! I’m looking forward to when my turn comes up at the library for the audio of Lincoln in the Bardo. Also, I very much enjoyed your piece over at Cathy’s 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Stefanie. Yeah, I don’t know about the 100 books thing, it’s something I’ve never really considered before now, but I figure I’m on pace for it, so why not try? If I fall short, who cares? I’m still reading great books!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I will have to read a lot of graphic novels, if I want to have any hope of getting close to 100 books this year (or any year). Kid #1 and I like to read the Lumberjanes together, and I saw that the library finally got the next volume of Miss Marvel. I do want to read The Underground Railroad soon, especially after all the discussions about the book during the Tournament of Books, but I am still recovering from reading Homegoing, so I wanted to have a little break before the next heavy-hitting book.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I definitely count graphic novels (and middle-grade books) in my reading count! 🙂

      Ah, Homegoing was so amazing. I totally understand about the heavy book thing. I tend to alternate lighter and heavier books in succession so I don’t get too depressed!

      Like

  8. Congrats on being featured on 746 books! This blog is newer to me, but it makes me so happy to see my favorite bloggers being featured on this blog. I’ll certainly have to check it out.

    Wow– you’re making a ton of great progress this year. Is the first quarter already over? Where did the time go? I love seeing statistical updates throughout the year. It is always inspiring. I hope that you find some traction on the goals you haven’t seen much progress on yet. There’s still plenty of time. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Your reading is going great so far even if you haven’t met specific goals but it sounds like you have read some really great books. I really need to rad Underground Railroad soon. It sounds like an great read. All the best with your reading goals.

    I didn’t make any for this year but I like how my reading is going so far.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

