Anne of Green Gables Readalong!

Jackie at Death By Tsundoku posted today about the Anne of Green Gables Readalong.  She is co-hosting with Jane at Greenish Bookshelves.  I read the first book in the series some years ago, as an adult.  I don’t know how I managed to get through childhood without reading them!  But I never continued with the rest of the series.  I feel like I’ve missed something! Hardly a week goes by that I don’t see a post somewhere referencing those books. I’m tired of feeling left out of the loop.  So I’m joining up now, even though May is over halfway finished.

Here are the details (per Jackie) in case you’re interested in joining:

  1. Each month, starting in May, we will read and review one book in the series. Not sure if you can read all 8? No worries! Just join in for what you can, even if you are posting “late”.
  2. Post your review on your blog, website, YouTube channel, etc. and link in our monthly posts! 
  3. Read, comment, and participate on other Anne lovers’ posts, and on Twitter with #AnneReadAlong2017.

May – Anne of Green Gables

June – Anne of Avonlea

July – Anne of the Island

August – Anne of Windy Poplars

September – Anne’s House of Dreams

October – Anne of Ingleside

November – Rainbow Valley

December – Rilla of Ingleside

 

anne-of-green-gables-paperbacksAnyone interested in joining us?  Have you read this series – once or more than once?

40 thoughts on “Anne of Green Gables Readalong!

  1. (*waves super-excitedly*)
    This sounds awesome – I definitely want to join in!
    My own LM Montgomery reading has totally fallen by the wayside this year (*shameface*) so this would get me back on track AND create some sort of accountability system w/ a deadline. nice!! 😊

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I read and re-read them a million times as a child and into adulthood – the Anne books, that is. For some reason, I never read the Rilla ones. I hope you get as much pleasure from them as I did – Anne was who I wanted to be when I grew up! Still is, actually… 😉

    Liked by 3 people

  3. I have never read this series. I only found out about it when I joined blogosphere. It isn’t popular in my country I guess but I am definitely curious. I will try and read it someday.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I’m so glad you’re planning to read these books! You probably already know that I’ve read them all a few times. But I’m happy to follow along and see what you have to say about them. It’s fun when someone is reading them for the first time. 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  5. I just discovered that there’s a series on Netflix but since I haven’t read it, I wasn’t sure whether to watch it or not. Your readalong us tempting but I don’t think I could manage May.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’m squeaking in with May myself, Caroline! I just learned about the readalong yesterday, otherwise I would have posted about it sooner! if you’re still tempted to join, I’m pretty sure you can post on a loose schedule!

      I’m not going to watch the series because I already have WAY too many shows I’m behind on! But I’d be interested in your thoughts if you watch it.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I read the first four repeatedly as a girl, but I got bored when Anne started to get interested in boys (nothing seemed more boring than being a grown-up to me). I finally read on with the series about ten years ago and then reread them all two years ago, including Rilla.

    If I were to have discovered them as an adult, I’m not sure I’d’ve enjoyed them quite as much, but they do maintain their charm all the same. I’m too nervous to watch the new series yet (working up my nerve) because I absolutely loved the Kevin Sullivan adaptation and rewatched it almost as often as I reread the books!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Great story! So much depends on WHEN we read a book. I’m about halfway through the first one, and I read it for the first time in 2009. I am wondering if I’m crankier now than I was then, because Anne is kind of getting on my nerves with her cheerfulness! Isn’t that awful? Makes me feel like such a crank.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Heheh. I’ve had that happen a couple of times when I picked it up to reread, but the charm returned on other reading occasions. (I had to wait a few years at one point though. *snorts*)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

