#20BooksofSummer: Taking the Plunge

Last year I joined Cathy’s #20BooksOfSummer Challenge but chose the option of reading ten books instead of twenty.  I know myself, and I know that I am a mood reader. Writing down a list of books that I MUST read ignites my inner rebel and instantly makes me want to read anything but.  And when I began thinking of my lists for this year’s challenge, I was going to go with the 10 books again.  However, having seen many lists going up this week, I’ve started to question my decision.  I think I’m going to go ahead, roll the dice, and do the FULL TWENTY!  So what if I don’t finish?  So what if I decide to swap out books?  No one is going to notice, because they’re too busy reading their own books and writing their own posts, right?  I’m not being graded on this, so why not?  Quit being such a perfectionist, Laila!  So, here is my list. (BTW, the picture below is not the full twenty – some of them will be library books I haven’t checked out yet.)

IMG_1646The Cutting Season by Attica Locke

The Drawing of the Three (Dark Tower #2) by Stephen King

Passing by Nella Larsen

Now You See Me (Lacey Flint #1) by Sharon Bolton

In the Country by Mia Alvar

Into the Water by Paula Hawkins

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Saints For All Occasions by J. Courtney Sullivan

Discontent and Its Civilizations:  Dispatches From New York, Lahore, and London by Mohsin Hamid

A Gentleman in Moscow by Amor Towles

Apex Hides the Hurt by Colson Whitehead

The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven by Sherman Alexie

The Reckoning (Maeve Kerrigan #2) by Jane Casey

Lady Susan, The Watsons, and Sanditon by Jane Austen

Ghana Must Go by Taye Selasi

American Street by Ibi Zoboi

At Mrs. Lippincote’s by Elizabeth Taylor

Anne of Avonlea by L.M. Montgomery

Anne of the Island by L.M. Montgomery

Anne of Windy Poplars by L.M. Montgomery

(Yes, I’m combining my #AnneReadAlong2017 with this challenge!)

20-booksThere it is!  Have you read any of these?  Are you joining the #20BooksofSummer Challenge?  

33 thoughts on “#20BooksofSummer: Taking the Plunge

  1. I haven’t read any of these books but I have heard only good things about The Hate U Give. I hope that you will enjoy it. All the best with the challenge and yeah, don’t worry about changing it up, I do that with my monthly TBR. I post them but don’t always stick to them 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve got into the water on my shelf right now, I’ve read mixed reviews so not sure what to expect. I’ve also got Sherman Alexie’a memoir on my shelf, it’s about his mother. Apparently it’s quite sad and funny at the same time 😬

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow! I really respect your commitment, Laila. Good for you for taking a chance and trying to let go of your perfectionism! I can relate to how hard that is, for sure. I have never done this challenge for that EXACT reason. I struggle too much to stick to a reading list. I’m glad to see you’re including Anne on your 20 Books of Summer challenge! Both Jane and I are looking forward to seeing what you think of this series.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha ha – thank you Jackie – it’s funny, the first book I was reading for the Challenge was a DNF! I just couldn’t continue – so I’m switching it with another book! That’s the only way I could try to do this challenge – flexibility! 🙂

      Like

      1. I’m so proud of you for even considering switching books! I would have just said, “Well, my first book was a DNF. One down, 19 to go!” 😉 You are certainly more committed than I am. Will you be writing a review of that book? I can’t recall, do you even write DNF reviews?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I do not usually write reviews of DNFs. I don’t feel like I have enough time to write posts on the books I really like, much less the ones I don’t. I might make mention of them in recap posts or on a TTT or something, though.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh, some great stuff on your list! And for once I’ve read a few of them. The Anne books I love, of course, and hope you will too. I thoroughly enjoyed The Cutting Season and have been meaning to read more of her stuff for years – oh, well! Passing is excellent (and short!). Great to see both Maeve Kerrigan and Lacey Flint put in an appearance – two of my fave ‘tecs. And of course we both have A Gentleman in Moscow on our lists. Have a fab summer of reading – and I will be grading you… 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The Anne books are the only ones I’ve read (Anne of the Island’s one of my favourites), but the rest of your list sounds fantastic, too!
    I notice a lot of bloggers recommending “Passing” – I’ll have to bump that one up my own list. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m seeing quite a few posts on this challenge, but I’m in winter 🙂

    There are a lot of books on your list that I have on my to read list too (The Cutting Season, The Hate U Give and A Gentleman in Moscow). Looking forward to reading your reviews on them. I’ve read a few posts on your blog and I love your blog. Definitely becoming a follower!

    PS – I liked Into the Water, I hope you’ll enjoy it too.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Nice combo. Some old classic and new classic, some entertainment and some thinking. Sounds great! My favourite in your list – oh, I was going to say Sherman Alexie, but then I realised WHICH of Elizabeth Taylor’s books you chose and I am exceptionally fond of that one. There are a couple of delightful bookish lines in it too. Enjoy them all!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This is an awesome list! Since you told me you liked The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, I’m confident you will also appreciate The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven. As I recall, it’s a difficult read at times, but so good (and I don’t even like short stories). Several of these are on my TBR for this year, so I’m eager to see what you think!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

