#20BooksofSummer REVISED: Because I’m Awful At Planning My Reading!

I knew that when I signed up for this 20 Books of Summer thing I would have trouble with it!  It’s kind of funny.  I mean, it’s only mid-June and I’m already revising my list. But I am just horrible at planning my reading.  I am a creature of whim when it comes to my books – plus I am in a book group that meets monthly.  WHICH I TOTALLY FORGOT to take into account when I wrote my first post EVEN THOUGH I’VE BEEN IN IT FOR TEN YEARS! Good grief.

140290I’m cutting out five books from my original list. One I started reading and just didn’t like (J. Courtney Sullivan’s Saints For All Occasions.  A shame, since I very much liked her other books.)  So I have already subbed in an Agatha Christie (The Mysterious Affair At Styles.)  And since I’ve become hooked on Stephen King’s Dark Tower series, I’m subbing in the third book, The Waste Lands, because I don’t think I can make it to September without reading it!

Then I’m adding my book group books for June and July to my list.  Our book for this month is Ruth Ozeki’s A Tale For The Time Being.  I’ve heard so many good things about this – I hope it’s good!  I’m going to listen to it on audio and read it, so I can try and finish it by our next meeting.

Taking Out:

  1. Lady Susan, The Watsons, Sanditon by Jane Austen
  2. Discontent and Its Civilizations by Mohsin Hamid
  3. Ghana Must Go by Taye Selasi
  4. Now You See Me by Sharon Bolton

tb-cover-993x1500Subbing In:

  1. A Tale For the Time Being – Ruth Ozeki
  2. The Waste Lands – Stephen King
  3. Unnamed Book Group Pick for July
  4. Unnamed Book Group Pick for August

I do still want to read the four I took out, but I also want to get as close to finished 20 books as I can, so they will have to wait.  This is hard!

I’ve finished the second book from my list (Into the Water by Paula Hawkins.) I really liked it.  Four stars!  I’ll be posting a review in the next couple of days.

So how are you faring with your lists?  Are you having to cut and add things like I am?

32 thoughts on “#20BooksofSummer REVISED: Because I’m Awful At Planning My Reading!

  1. I definitely can relate to this. One of the reasons I don’t participate in reading challenges like this where there are set reading lists is because I’m definitely a mood reader. Plus, I participate in so many book clubs it almost doesn’t matter what I pick for my own reading. I only manage another 2 to 4 books I am selecting on my own each month. O_o

    I LOVE A Tale for the Time Being. I listened to the audiobook. It’s wonderful. I never wrote a review for that on my blog, since I read it before blogging, but I feel like a re-read will be in the near future and a post. ❤ I can't wait to hear what you think about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. First I’m jealous of the fact that you have been part of a book group for 10 years, that must be a great group of people, which is why I’m starting my own book club because I haven’t found that yet! Secondly, I also just finished Into the Water and plan on posting my review shortly 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s been a rotating cast over the years, people have moved away and lost interest, but our core has remained the same and I feel very lucky to have found it, Anne! Good luck with yours!

      Oooh, I can’t wait to see what you think. I’ll probably post mine tomorrow night.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I can relate to this so much – I’m such a big mood reader. Also, if I HAVE to read a book, it makes me want to read it less most of the time. Best of luck with your revised list! I’m especially looking forward to reading your review of the Ozeki book. I’ve been wanting to read it for ages.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Haha! This made me laugh. This is one of the reasons I decided not to join this year – summer is so unpredictable for me anyway when it comes to blogging… I had fun with it, but I’m going to go without this year and see how I feel about it. I love seeing everyone else’s lists, though, and following their attempts. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Heheh Even though I’m usually behind with your posts a little, it feels like it’s been only days since I was commenting on your first version. But I can relate. Every month I make a list (in pencil, which is revealing all on its own) of the books which I am going to finish in the next month and every month there are at least 20% of the little boxes filled with arrows instead of checkmarks, as those books roll over into the following month, because others (like your King obsession and bookgroup additions) which simply must nose their way into things. Have you read any other of Ozeki’s?

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Both of her others are favourites too, for slightly different reasons (*My Year of Meats* for funny plus story and *All Over Creation* for theme and characters). I’m sure you’ll enjoy FTTB: she has a way about her. Have fun!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I lit up when I learned you are reading A Tale for the Time Being. I really hope you like it! It’s weird and a lot of people didn’t like the direction the ending took but I loooooved it. And just in general, the narrative voice of the teenage narrator (there’s two narrators) was so winning and great.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I never stick to my reading list. I guess I am a mood reader and so this constantly changes. I keep forgetting my book-club reads when making my monthly TBRs but I do manage to read them before the meetings lol. All the best with the new changes and happy reading 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

